Viking Speedway: Beto sweeps Short Trackers features in Labor Day Doubleheader

Shawn Beto of Wahpeton, North Dakota, won both Short Trackers features in the Labor Day Doublehead at Viking Speedway on Sept. 3 and Sept. 4. Brendan Blascyk of Hoffman kept up his winning ways with a feature win and a runner-up finish in the Midwest Mods.

05-Shawn Beto-DSC_4898.JPG
Shawn Beto made the trip from Wahpeton, North Dakota, to compete in the short trackers feature on July 30, 2022, at Viking Speedway in Alexandria. Beto won the feature. Beto won both Short Trackers features in the Labor Day Doubleheader at Viking Speedway on Sept. 3 and 4, 2022.
Sam Stuve / Alexandria Echo Press
We are part of The Trust Project.

ALEXANDRIA - Shawn Beto of Wahpeton, North Dakota, ended the racing season in dominant fashion by winning the Short Trackers Features on Friday, Sept. 3 and Sunday, Sept. 4, at Viking Speedway.

In Friday’s feature, Beto beat out fellow North Dakotan, John Heacox of Lisbon, who finished second. Season points winner Kevin Wahl of Fergus Falls, finished third on Friday and second on Saturday.

Tristan Raths of Donnelly finished third on Saturday.

A week removed from securing the season points title in the Midwest Mods, Brendan Balscyk continued his positive momentum with a second-place finish in Friday’s feature and a win in Saturday’s.

Hoffman native Brendan Blascyk won his first career season points title by edging out Travis Saurer of Elizabeth, who won Saturday's feature, by one point. Blasyck, along with Brady Gerdes of Villard, Ryan Satter of Dent, Trevor Saurer of Elizabeth and Kevin Wahl of Fergus Falls are the 2022 Viking Speedway season points champions.

Cody Lee of Starbuck won Friday’s feature while Shawn Olson of Alexandria finished third. Olson also finished second in Saturday’s feature, ahead of Garfield’s Justin Froemming.


Don Eischens of Richmond and Brett Hoium each won a Modifieds feature at the doubleheaders. Eischens won on Friday, ahead of season points winner Brady Gerdes of Villard, and Josh Thoennes of Nelson. Hoium beat out Dustin Bitzan of Brandon and Thoennes.

In Friday’s Street Stock feature, Kolton Brauer was victorious. The Eyota native finished ahead of Wisconsin natives Andrew Hanson (Iron River) and Kolby Kiehl (Barron). Hanson was once again the runner up on Saturday, as Brooten’s Justin Vogel won the feature. Kyle Genett of Auburndale, Wisconsin, finished third.

Trevor Saurer of Dalton ended his season strong by winning the Super Stock feature on Friday and finishing second on Saturday.

Matt Miller of Glenwood beat out Saurer in Saturday’s feature. Brandon Duellman of Winona, finished second in Friday’s feature, while Karter Reents of Glenwood finished third. Duellman finished third in Saturday’s feature.



MIDWEST MODS - 1. Cody Lee, Starbuck; 2. Brendan Blascyk, Hoffman; 3. Shawn Olson, Alexandria; 4. Matt Froelich, Zimmerman; 5. Ron Saurer, Dalton

MODIFIEDS - 1. Don Eischens, Richmond; 2. Brady Gerdes, Villard; 3. Josh Thoennes, Nelson; 4. Tyler Kaeter, St. Cloud; 5. Jason Thoennes, Garfield


STREET STOCK - 1. Kolton Brauer, Eyota; 2. Andrew Hanson, Iron River, WI; 3. Kolby Kiehl, Barron, WI; 4. Ty Agen, Chippewa Falls, WI; 5. Kyle Genett, Auburndale, WI

SUPER STOCK - 1. Trevor Saurer, Dalton; 2. Brandon Duellman, Winona; 3. Karter Reents, Glenwood; 4. Jim Gulikson, Nowthen; 5. Jeff Crouse, Alexandria

SHORT TRACKERS - 1. Shawn Beto, Wahpeton, ND; 2. John Heacox, Lisbon, ND; 3. Kevin Wahl, Fergus Falls; 4. Jeff Rohner, Willmar; 5. Kole Kampsen, Brooten.


MIDWEST MODS - 1. Brendan Blascyk, Hoffman; 2. Shawn Olson, Alexandria; 3. Justin Froemming, Garfield; 4, Travis Engebretson, Cyrus; 5. Taylor Bitzan, Brandon.

MODIFIEDS - 1. Brett Hoium, Villard; 2. Dustin Bitzan, Brandon; 3. Josh Thoeness, Brandon; 4. Tyler Kaeter, St. Cloud; 5. Brady Gerdes, Villard

STREET STOCK - 1. Justin Vogel, Brooten; 2. Andrew Hanson, Iron River, WI; 3. Kyle Genett, Auburndale, WI; 4. Kolby Kiehl, Barron, WI; 5. Ty Agen, Chippewa Falls, WI

SUPER STOCK - 1. Matt Miller, Glenwood; 2. Trevor Saurer, Dalton; 3. Brandon Duellman, Winona; 4. Jordan Henkenmeyer, Sauk Rapids; 5. Justin Tammen, Clara City


SHORT TRACKERS - 1. Shawn Beto, Wahpeton, ND; 2. Kevin Wahl, Fergus Falls; 3. Tristan Raths, Donnelly; 4. Joe Martin, Willmar; 5. John Heacox, Lisbon, ND.

Sam Stuve covers a variety of sports in the Douglas County area. He also is assigned to do some news stories as well.
What To Read Next
Douglas County area basketball, dance, hockey, wrestling, and gymnastics for Friday, Jan. 27, 2023.
Alexandria high school alum and current Alexandria Blizzard player Joe Gronholz has signed a tender with the Minnesota Wilderness.
Alexandria went on two big runs at the end of each half in a 73-51 win over Detroit Lakes at Lakeshirts Fieldhouse on Tuesday night.
Douglas County area basketball for Monday, Jan. 23, 2023.