VanNyhuis named MVP among Osakis award winners

The Silverstreaks were equally as impressive in the classroom with multiple academic all-state award winners.

GBB Team awards and allconference.jpg
Osakis girls basketball team award and All-Prairie Conference Award winners are (left to right) Mara VanNyhuis, MVP, all conference; Grace Oeltjen, Defensive POY, honorable-mention all conference; Kadyn Triebenbach, Silverstreak Award; Tessa Stanek, Most Improved; and Alexis Johanson, all conference. (Contributed photo)

Osakis junior guard Mara VanNyhuis battled some injuries early in her career as she worked to get back and make an impact for the Silverstreaks basketball program.

VanNyhuis felt good on the court this past winter as she was named Osakis’ MVP at its season-ending awards banquet. She led the team in three-point shooting (31.7%, minimum 35 attempts) and rebounding (113). VanNyhuis averaged 10.6 points and 6.6 rebounds per game.

VanNyhuis and fellow junior Alexis Johanson both earned All-Prairie Conference honors, while senior Grace Oeltjen was an honorable-mention selection. Johanson led the team in scoring at 11.5 points and steals with 2.3 per game. She also grabbed 6.2 rebounds a night.

GBB Performance awards.jpg
Osakis girls basketball performance award winners for leading the team in different categories are (left to right) Mara VanNyhuis, three-point shooting, rebounds; Grace Oeltjen, assists; Kadyn Triebenbach, field-goal percentage; and Alexis Johanson, steals. Not pictured is Hayleigh Niehoff, free-throw percentage. (Contributed photo)


Oeltjen earned the Defensive Player of the Year Award from her team, and she also posted a team-high 50 assists to go along with 1.7 steals per game. Hayleigh Niehoff was the team’s top free-throw shooter at 76.1% on her way to averaging 6.5 points a night.

Junior guard Tessa Stanek earned the team’s Most Improved Award as she became an important fixture for this team more and more as the season progressed. Stanek averaged 5.1 points and 1.2 steals a game.

Senior center Kadyn Triebenbach rounded out the Silverstreaks’ team award winners with the Silverstreak Award after she led Osakis in field-goal percentage (47.2%) among players with a minimum of 50 shots.

Allstate academic.jpg
Seniors who earned academic all-state honors for the Osakis girls basketball team are (left to right) Julianna Collins, Kadyn Triebenbach, Anna Wolf and Brooke Breiter. (Contributed photo)

Osakis had an impressive senior nucleus in the classroom too as Triebenbach, Brooke Breiter, Anna Wolf and Julianna Collins all earned academic all-state honors.

The Silverstreaks finished the season with a 10-8 record overall and a 6-2 mark in the Prairie Conference. That was good for second in the league behind Browerville-Eagle Valley (16-4, 7-1 Prairie).

Osakis will return a good bulk of its roster next winter, but will have to make up for the graduations of Triebenbach, Breiter, Collins, Oeltjen and Wolf.


Eric Morken is a sports and outdoor editor at the Echo Press Newspaper in Alexandria, Minnesota, a property of the Forum News Service. Morken covers a variety of stories throughout the Douglas County area, as well as statewide outdoor issues.
What To Read Next
Get Local