The Alexandria boys track and field program capped off the spring season by sending five athletes to the Class AA state meet and having junior Will Heydt win a state title in the triple jump with a new personal-record leap of 45-feet, 4.5-inches.

Heydt was honored for his season by earning the Cardinals’ MVP award among field athletes. It was part of a host of awards he finished the year with as Heydt added all-state athletic and all-state academic honors as well. He was an All-Central Lakes Conference athlete in the triple jump and an honorable-mention All-CLC performer with the 4x100 relay team from a CLC championship meet that both the Alexandria boys and girls won as a team.

Jacob Kleven
Jacob Kleven

Senior Jacob Kleven earned the Cardinals’ MVP award for the team’s distance athletes and was also named the Coaches’ Award winner.

Kleven followed up a standout fall season in cross country by being an All-CLC performer in the 800-meter run and the 4x400 relay with juniors Zach Gundberg, Myles Sansted and Mason Teaser. The 4x400 group of Kleven, senior Nolan Morical, Sansted and junior Jack Theien also earned all-state honors by taking eighth place at the Class AA state meet.

Morical rounded out Alexandria’s MVP award winners by being named the most valuable sprinter/hurdler. Like Kleven, he also earned the Coaches’ Award for his role in leading this year’s team as a senior.

Newsletter signup for email alerts

Nolan Morical
Nolan Morical

Morical was All-CLC in three events (100, 200, 400 dashes) before qualifying for two state events. In addition to the 8th-place finish in the 4x400 relay, he also took 12th in the 100-meter dash at St. Michael-Albertville High School.

Other All-CLC award winners for Alexandria included: senior Nic Huss (pole vault, 4x200), junior Teagan Pfeffer (4x200), Sansted (1600 run), Teaser (4x200), Theien (100, 400 dashes) and Kelly Johnson (4x200). Those who earned honorable-mention All-CLC status in events were Cameron Hochsprung (4x800), Huss (4x100), Torrey Olson-Rodel (4x800), Hayden Peterson (4x800), Bennett Wirth (1600), Gavin Ashmore (300 hurdles), Christian Doumbia (4x100), Zander Homelvig (discus), Joey Lanoux (shot put), Pfeffer (long jump), Calen Piepho (4x100), Theien (200 dash) and Riley Wagner (4x800).

Off the track and field, Alexandria had academic all-state award winners in Hochsprung, Gundberg, Heydt, Homelvig, Pfeffer, Sansted, Theien, Bryr Homelvig, Johnson and Wagner.

Heydt, Lanou, Joel Brault, Pfeffer, Sansted and Theien have all been named captains for the 2022 season as this group looks ahead to next spring.