Like the girls, the Alexandria boys are off to a great start to the spring season in track and field.

The Cardinals posted 36 personal records and won seven events on the way to winning the Monticello Invite on Tuesday night. They breezed to the win with 209 team points, as Osseo was a distant second at 116.5.

Drew Olson again helped lead the way with a hand in three wins. He took the 100-meter dash (11.00) and the 200 dash (22.61), while also running the anchor leg with Kristen Hoskins, Nolan Morical and Cody Branson to win the 4x100 relay in 43.29 seconds.

The 4x400 relay team of Caden Scheunert, Graham Peterson, Jack Theien and Ethan Schroeder won in 3:32.40. Derrek Piepho took the long jump with a mark of 20-feet, 2-inches, a personal best. Joshua Kietzmann won the triple jump (41-10) and Jaymeson Wolkow continues to impress in the throws by winning the discus (134-6).


TEAM SCORES - Alexandria - 209; Osseo - 116.5; Monticello - 91; St. Cloud Tech - 88; Buffalo - 82; St. Cloud Apollo - 79.5

ALEXANDRIA TOP-FIVE FINISHERS - 4x800 RELAY - Noah Struck, Ryan Donahue, Myles Sansted, Zachary Gundberg - fourth; 110-METER HURDLES - Joshua Kietzmann - fourth; Daniel Jantzen - fifth; 100-METER DASH - Drew Olson - first; Kristen Hoskins - second (PR 11.13 seconds); Nolan Morical - fourth; 4x200 RELAY - Derrek Piepho, Graham Peterson, Morical, Branson - second; 400-METER DASH - Ethan Schroeder - third; 300-METER HURDLES - Kietzmann - third (42.52 PR); Jantzen - fourth; 200-METER DASH - Olson - first; Hoskins - second; Piepho - third (23.38 PR); 3,200-METER RUN - Dane Galloway - third; Jacob Kleven - fourth (10:26.76 PR); LONG JUMP - Piepho - first; Branson - fourth; TRIPLE JUMP - Kietzmann - first; Peterson - third; HIGH JUMP - Pohlen - third; POLE VAULT - Nicholas Huss - third (10-6 PR); Jaegar Steele - fourth (10-00 PR); SHOT PUT - Jaymeson Wolkow - second (48-10 PR); DISCUS - Wolkow - first; 4X100 RELAY - Hoskins, Morical, Branson, Olson - first; 4x400 RELAY - Caden Scheunert, Peterson, Jack Theien, Schroeder - first

ALEXANDRIA PRs: Logan Peterson, Nathan Klimek, Torrey Olson-Rodel, Cameron Huchsprung, Peyton Fischer, Sean Klein, Ben Borden, Jakob Arndt, Ashur Nelson, Matthew Johnson, Mason Teaser, Parker Bomstad, Isaac Siegel, Wyatt Odland and Preston Peterson