Softball: Chargers recognize solid young nucleus

Junior Sydney Schaefer named MVP for Brandon-Evansville.

Sophie Koep
Brandon-Evansville's Sophie Koep takes a cut during a game against Ortonville on May 16, 2022. Koep, a junior infielder, was named the Chargers' Gold Glove Award winner for her play defensively this season.
Sam Stuve / Alexandria Echo Press
We are part of The Trust Project.

BRANDON-EVANSVILLE — The Brandon-Evansville softball team had two athletes earn first-team honors when the All-Pheasant Conference awards were announced in June.

Junior center fielder Sydney Schaefer and shortstop/pitcher Kylee Dingwall both were a part of that 10-person group that made the first team.

Junior Taylin Kramer (SS/P) was a second-team all-conference player, and junior Sophie Koep (1B) and senior Kaytlyn Pattrin (OF/P/3B) were honorable-mention selections. Pattrin had a 2.56 ERA with 17 strikeouts in 13.2 innings pitched. She hit at a .275 clip with a .431 on-base percentage while scoring 16 runs and driving in 7.

Schaefer earned Brandon-Evansville’s team MVP Award. She hit at a .404 average with a .470 on-base percentage. Schaefer led the Chargers in runs scored with 23 and RBI’s with 16.

Koep was the Gold Glove Award winner, while Dingwall won the Silver Slugger Award. Koep hit .319 with 16 runs scored and 6 RBI’s. Dingwall hit a team-best .433 among regular starters. She had 21 runs scored and 12 RBI’s.


Kramer earned the Miss Hustle Award for her energy on the field. She scored 18 runs and drove in 10 with a .269 batting average and .433 on-base percentage.

Kramer also led the team in innings pitched at 47.2. She went 4-4 with a 3.67 ERA behind 58 strikeouts and 36 walks.

Read more Brandon-Evansville Chargers coverage from the Echo Press
The Brandon-Evansville girls charged back from down 19 and were within arms reach, but Clinton-Graceville-Beardsley made the plays needed to secure the win.

Madeline Stich, an 8th-grader who started behind the plate at catcher, earned the team’s Most Improved Player Award. She broke out with a .361 batting average and .439 on-base percentage and added six runs scored and five RBI’s.

The Chargers finished with an 11-7 overall record. They went 10-4 in the Pheasant Conference. Hancock and Clinton-Graceville-Beardsley both tied for first in league play with 13-1 records.

Jessica Moberg of CGB was named the Pheasant Conference MVP, and CGB’s Brice Hoffman was named the Coach of the Year. Hancock’s Carlee Hanson was the Pitcher of the Year and the Offensive Player of the Year Award winner in the conference.

Brandon-Evansville was leaning on many athletes who were moving into bigger or completely new roles on varsity this season, giving the Chargers hope that they can improve on their 11-win season in 2023.

Eric Morken is a sports and outdoor editor at the Echo Press Newspaper in Alexandria, Minnesota, a property of the Forum News Service. Morken covers a variety of stories throughout the Douglas County area, as well as statewide outdoor issues.
What To Read Next
The Alexandria boys took first place in 11 out of 12 events in what was a big win over Section 5A foe Melrose-Sauk Centre on senior night and parent appreciation night.
Alexandria improved to 9-0-1 in conference games with the win.
West Central Area-Ashby-Brandon-Evansville earned a win at Detroit Lakes on Friday, while Minnewaska earned two wins in Osakis.
The Alexandra varsity and JV dance teams finished out the regular season strong in Monticello and are now ready for the Section 4AA meet.