Football: B-E set to have a lot more experience in 2023; team hands out 2022 season awards

The Chargers finished the season 4-5 and gained a lot of experience throughout the season.

2022 Team Award Winners.jpg
The Brandon-Evansville football team award winners take a photo after being given their awards. (Left to Right): Aaron Gillespie, Micah Fuller, Brady Perleberg, Logan Haburn, Ryland Yeats, Stephen Hamilton, Seth Thoennes and Landon Stich.<br/>
Contributed photo
We are part of The Trust Project.

The Brandon-Evansville football program shrugged off a 0-2 start to the 2022 season by winning four out of its last six games and made the Section 4 9-Man playoffs.

The Chargers ended the season with a 4-5 record and recently handed out its team awards for the season.

Junior Logan Haburn won the team’s Defensive F.A.T.E award, he was an all-section player and an all-Little Eight Conference selection.

Haburn had team-high 79.5 tackles (nine for loss) two interceptions, one forced fumble and two fumble recoveries. He rushed for 512 yards, nine touchdowns, and had 20 receiving yards on offense.

Sophomore Micah Fuller won the team’s Offensive F.A.T.E award. Fuller rushed for 430 yards and four touchdowns, while throwing for 540 yards and nine touchdowns.


Senior Ryland Yeats took home the Special Team F.A.T.E award as he had 514 return yards, while also leading the offense in rushing yards with 593. He also had six rushing touchdowns, 137 receiving yards and three touchdowns. He had 26 tackles, one interception and one fumble recovery.

The most improved player of the year awards went to senior Brady Perleberg (varsity) and freshman Landon Stich (JV).

Perleberg played many different roles for the team on special teams, offense and defense.Stich recorded five tackles on varsity this season.

The Leadership Award was given to senior Aaron Gillespie, while the Dallas Hanson Memorial Award was given to junior Steve Hamilton.

Gillespie and Hamilton were all-conference selections as Gillespie had 21 tackles (2.5 for loss), one forced fumble and two fumble recoveries, while Hamilton was second on the team in tackles with 49.5 (6.5 for loss), one forced fumble and a fumble recovery.

Hamilton had a team-high 315 receiving yards and seven touchdowns.

Juniors Solomon Wales and Ben Seifert were all-conference honorable mentions. Wales was fourth on the team in tackles with 38.5 (eight for loss), one interception and played a bit on offense. Hamilton, Gillespie and Haburn were named to the 9-man all-West (South) District team.

2022 All Section.jpg
The Brandon-Evansville all-conference and all-district winners, (from left to right) Logan Haburn, Aaron Gillespie, Solomon Wales, Ryland Yeats, and Stephen Hamilton.
Contributed photo

Seifert finished third on the team in tackles with 39 (nine for loss). Seth Thoennes won the team’s Scout Player of the Year award. He registered a couple of rushes on offense and a couple of tackles on defense.


The Chargers will have a bevy of experience back next season as Gillespie, Yeats, Perleberg and Kayla Bitzan-Anderson are the only seniors from this past season. The Chargers had 19 letter winners this season.

2022 Letterwinners.jpg
The 2022 Brandon-Evansville football letter winners. Front row (left to right): Landon Stich, Justin Thoennes, Colton Breitkreutz, Landon Sullivan, Seth Thoennes and William Englund. Back Row (left to right): Ryland Yeats, Stephen Hamilton, Micah Fuller, Brady Perleberg, Logan Haburn, Solomon Wales, Kayla Bitzan-Anderson, Alessio Schott, and Aaron Gillespie. Not pictured: Jack Kelly, Ben Seifert, and Lucas Fuller.
Contributed photo

The Chargers averaged 23.1 points per game this season. In three of their four wins, the Chargers scored at least 30 points.

Sam Stuve covers a variety of sports in the Douglas County area. He also is assigned to do some news stories as well.
What To Read Next
The Cardinals have won four games in a row and have outscored their last four opponents 24-3.
Douglas County area basketball, swimming and diving, hockey, nordic skiing and wrestling for Thursday, Jan. 26, 2023.
Alexandria had a solid number of top times but was edged out by four points by Sauk Rapids-Rice.
Alexandria recorded a couple of personal bests in its dual against Sartell on Tuesday.