Plenty to honor after Osakis’ 13-0 season

The Osakis tennis team recognized another group of talented athletes after the Silverstreaks wrapped up a perfect season this fall with a Section 6A title.

osGTN team awards.jpg
Osakis tennis team award winners are (left to right) Tia Dykema, MVP; Kadyn Triebenbach, Silverstreak Award; Helena Zajac, Most Improved; Leah Maddock, Rookie of the Year. (Contributed photo)

The Osakis tennis team could not have done anymore with the slate that was put in front of the Silverstreaks as they honored the players responsible for an undefeated season that included plenty of accolades from the court and the classroom.

Osakis won the Section 6A championship with a 6-1 win over Minnewaska that put the finishing touches on a 13-0 season. Senior longtime first-singles player Tia Dykema had a lot to do with that success, and she was named the Silverstreaks’ MVP for her efforts.

Dykema was the Prairie Conference MVP after going 13-0 at first singles, while teammates Mara VanNyhuis (13-0, second singles, first doubles), Kennedy George (12-0, third singles, second singles), Ellie George (10-1, second doubles, first doubles) and Brittany Dietrich (11-1, second doubles, first doubles, third doubles) joined her as all-conference players.

Dykema finished her standout career with 120 wins as she now looks ahead to playing collegiately at Minnesota State University-Moorhead.

Helena Zajac was named Osakis’ most improved player after going 10-0 while playing third and second doubles. Leah Maddock took home the Rookie of the Year Award as she finished 3-0 in varsity matches at fourth singles, along with first and third doubles.


Senior Kadyn Triebenbach helped anchor the top of the doubles lineup this fall and earned the Silverstreak Award for her positive influence on the team. Triebenbach was 6-5 while playing all three of the doubles spots in the lineup.

In addition to having five All-Prairie Conference award winners, the Silverstreaks also had five earn honorable-mention status in the league. Triebenbach, Sydney Rach (7-5, first, second, third doubles), Larissa Hoffarth (12-0, third, fourth singles), Lexi Spychalla (11-0, second, third doubles) and Zajac all earned that honor.

osGTN academic all state.jpg
Osakis tennis team academic all-state award winners are (left to right) Tia Dykema, Kadyn Triebenbach, Brittany Dietrich, Sydney Rach, Jayden Hensley and Helena Zajac. (Contributed photo)

Osakis was equally as impressive in the classroom as it was on the courts, where the Silverstreaks earned a Gold Team Academic Award. That was led by six players earning all-state academic honors in Brittany Dietrich, Dykema, Jayden Hensley, Rach, Triebenbach and Zajac.

Eric Morken is a sports and outdoor editor at the Echo Press Newspaper in Alexandria, Minnesota, a property of the Forum News Service. Morken covers a variety of stories throughout the Douglas County area, as well as statewide outdoor issues.
What To Read Next
Get Local