Playoff picture comes into focus for area teams

Alexandria seeded second in Section 8-3A and opens up the tournament on June 3 at home.

Alexandria's Chloe Loch makes a foul-ball catch against Eden Valley-Watkins midway through the 2021 season. Loch and the Cardinals open up Section 8-3A tournament play on June 3 at home against the winner of Bemidji and Detroit Lakes after earning the second seed in the field. (Eric Morken / Echo Press)

Area softball teams know their path through the playoffs now with the regular season over.

Here is a look at how all the area softball tournaments are seeded for local teams.

Section 8-3A

Alexandria is positioned as the No. 2 seed in the six-team Section 8-3A after a 14-6 regular season.

The Cardinals split with top-seeded Sartell-St. Stephen during a doubleheader in the regular-season finale, but the Sabres got the No. 1 seed with a 16-2 record. Both Sartell and Alexandria will open the playoffs on June 3 at home with 4:30 p.m. first pitches.

The Cardinals play the winner of third-seeded Bemidji (10-10) and sixth-seeded Detroit Lakes (2-18). Sartell will play the winner of fourth-seeded Sauk Rapids-Rice (3-15) and fifth-seeded Little Falls (4-15).


The Section 8-3A championship game is scheduled for June 10 with a second game on June 11 if necessary in the double-elimination format.

Section 6A

Brandon-Evansville (17-3) and Parkers Prairie (12-7) both host home playoff games in the first round of the Section 6A tournament.

The Panthers are seeded third and host sixth-seeded Ashby (6-13). The Chargers got the No. 4 seed and take on fifth-seeded Pelican Rapids (10-10) in their opener. First-round games are June 1 with 5 p.m. start times at the high seeds.

Browerville-Eagle Valley (17-0) is the No. 1 seed in the North half of the bracket, while New York Mills (15-5) is No. 2.

West Central Area (8-9) is the fifth seed in the South half of the field. The Knights go to Upsala (7-9) on June 1 for a 5 p.m. first pitch. Benson (13-6) earned the No. 1 seed in the South.

Second-round games are scheduled for June 3.

The Section championship is June 10 at a location yet to be determined.

Section 6AA

Osakis is the No. 6 seed in the Section 6AA tournament after a 12-6 regular season.


The Silverstreaks host 11th-seeded Melrose (8-11) at 4:30 p.m. on June 1. The winner of that game advances to play the winner of third-seeded Albany (15-4) and 14th-seeded Royalton (8-10) on June 3.

Pierz (19-1) is the No. 1 seed in the section. Annandale (18-2) is seeded second, while St. Cloud Cathedral (12-8) is fourth and Holdingford (14-5) rounds out the top five seeds in the 17-team field.

The Section 6AA championship will be played on June 10 at 5 p.m. in Waite Park, according to MSHSL brackets.

Section 3AA

Minnewaska (5-13) got the No. 7 seed in Section 3-2A North and will travel to second-seeded Litchfield (14-6) for the tournament opener on June 1 at 3 p.m.

The winner of that game plays the winner of third-seeded Dassel-Cokato (9-11) and sixth-seeded New London-Spicer (3-15) at 6 p.m. that same day in Litchfield.

Morris Area-Chokio-Alberta (18-2) is the No. 1 seed in the North and hosts eighth-seeded Atwater-Cosmos-Grove City (0-19) on June 1.

Pipestone (19-2) is the No. 1 seed in the South half of the section field. St. James (14-4) is second and Windom (12-7) is third.

The Section 3-2A championship is scheduled for June 10 at 5 p.m. in Marshall.


Eric Morken is a sports and outdoor editor at the Echo Press Newspaper in Alexandria, Minnesota, a property of the Forum News Service. Morken covers a variety of stories throughout the Douglas County area, as well as statewide outdoor issues.
What To Read Next
Get Local