Jim Syverson part of two championships in Eagles Horseshoe League

Regular season and tournament results of the Eagles Horseshoe League in Alexandria.

Jim Syverson

The Eagles Horseshoe League in Alexandria wrapped up its 2021 season as Jim Syverson took first place in the Class A singles tournament held on July 19.

Jerry Nelson was second in that Class A tournament, while Mary Botten rounded out the top three. Jeff Thompson won the Class B tournament, and Cindy Mithun won the Class C field.

Syverson and Thompson won the team playoff that was held on July 12, while Gary Krichof and Bruce Swenson were the regular season league champions.


SINGLES TOURNAMENT -- CLASS A - First place - Jim Syverson; Second place - Jerry Nelson; Third place - Mary Botten; CLASS B - First place - Jeff Thompson; Second place - Brett Anderson; Third place - Bruce Swenson; CLASS C - First place - Cindy Mithun; Second place - Bob Lenz; Third place - Samantha Mithun


TEAM PLAYOFF -- First place - Jim Syverson/Jeff Thompson; Second place - Tom Courneya/Jerry Nelson; Third place - Gary Kirchof/Bruce Swenson

LEAGUE PLAY - First place - Gary Kirchof/Bruce Swenson; Second place - Jim Syverson/Jeff Thompson; Third place - Brett Anderson/ James Weaver

Eric Morken is a sports and outdoor editor at the Echo Press Newspaper in Alexandria, Minnesota, a property of the Forum News Service. Morken covers a variety of stories throughout the Douglas County area, as well as statewide outdoor issues.
What To Read Next
Get Local