Jaden Norby, Bailey Schaefer league MVPs as Ashby, B-E fill the All-Pheasant Conference lists in baseball, softball

Ashby senior puts up huge numbers on the mound and at the plate.

Ashby senior Jaden Norby lets out a scream after a slide into home plate that ripped his jersey during the Section 6A championship round against New York Mills on June 10, 2021. Norby won the Pheasant Conference MVP Award for his spring season after hitting .452 with 28 RBIs and 33 runs scored in 26 games played, and posting an 11-1 pitching record with 99 strikeouts and an ERA of 1.04 in 60 1/3 innings pitched. (Photo by Eric Morken / Echo Press)

The Ashby baseball team (24-3) rolled through the Pheasant Conference with a 12-0 season on the way to a championship this past spring, and the Arrows put five players on the all-conference team as a result of that.

Senior Jaden Norby was a powerful bat in the middle of a lineup that scored 8.8 runs per game and a powerful arm in a pitching rotation that allowed 2.1 runs. He was named the Pheasant Conference MVP for that versatility.

Norby had a team-best .452 batting average overall in 26 games played this season. That included 7 doubles, 3 triples and 6 home runs as he racked up a team-high 28 RBIs and 33 runs scored. Norby was maybe even more dominant on the mound where he struck out 99 batters in 60 1/3 innings on his way to an 11-1 record and a 1.04 ERA.

Hancock’s Preston Rohloff was the Pitcher of the Year in the Pheasant Conference, and Nate Moberg of Border West earned the Offensive Player of the Year Award. Ashby’s Jared Larson earned the Coach of the Year Award.

Ashby’s Carter Spangler (.373 BA, 17 RBI, 22 runs, 2.15 ERA), Hunter Norby (.359 BA, 24 RBI, 22 runs, 0.52 ERA, 49 SO, 40 2/3 IP), Mattson Hoff (.297 BA, 19 RBI, 18 runs) and Torin Olson (.353 BA, 25 RBI, 38 runs) also earned all-conference honors for their seasons. Evan Paulson (.321 AVG, 17 RBI, 14 runs) and Brodie Ecker (.257 AVG, .379 OBP, 9 RBI, 21 runs) were honorable-mention selections.


Brandon-Evansville had four guys named All-Pheasant Conference in Kyle Schaffran, Tyler Bitzan, Brady Perleberg and Riley Perleberg, while Hunter Koep and Dezmond White were honorable-mention selections.

West Central Area rounded out the area teams as Jordan Lohse and Reubens Swanson were all conference, and Trent Koloski and Colton Lindquist were honorable-mention selections.

Chargers line the softball all-conference list

Brandon-Evansville senior Bailey Schaefer looks in at home plate during a pitch in the Section 6A playoffs on June 1, 2021. Schaefer earned the Pheasant Conference MVP Award after helping to lead the Chargers to a seventh straight conference championship this past spring. (Eric Morken / Echo Press)

The Brandon-Evansville softball team had a similar presence on the All-Pheasant Conference list as the Ashby baseball team did.

The Chargers, who went 13-1 in winning the program’s seventh straight conference championship, put four players on the all-conference first team in Bailey Schaefer, Mikenna Pattrin, Sydney Schaefer and Taylin Kramer. Bailey Schaefer earned the league’s MVP honor, while Pattrin was named the pitcher of the year. Korrie Randt and Kylee Dingwall were honorable-mention selections, and Kasi Sieling was the Pheasant Conference Coach of the Year.

Mikenna Pattrin


West Central Area had two first-team all-conference selections in Addison Staples and Emma Swenson. Madi Hansen was named to the second team, and Claire Stark and Alaina Sykora were named honorable-mention players after the Knights went 8-5 in league play.

Ashby rounded out the area teams in the league as the Arrows finished 4-10 in the conference. Anna Thormodson and Anissa Heinrich were second-team all-conference players, and Ryleigh Brendmoen earned honorable-mention status.


ALL-CONFERENCE MEMBERS BY TEAM -- Ashby (12-0) -- Jaden Norby (MVP), Carter Spangler, Hunter Norby, Mattson Hoff, Torin Olson

Brandon-Evansville (9-3) -- Kyle Schaffran, Tyler Bitzan, Brady Perleberg, Riley Perleberg; Honorable mention -- Hunter Koep, Dezmond White

Border West (7-5) -- Jakob Adelman, Isaac Haanen, Jacob Volker; Honorable mention -- Brayden Hofer, Brody Nachbor

Hancock (7-5) -- Kody Berget, Adam Shaw; Honorable mention -- Devon Schroeder, Dain Schroeder

Ortonville (4-8) -- Andrew Strong, Deaven Boots; Honorable mention -- Carter Powell, Josh Mueller


West Central Area (3-9) -- Jordan Lohse, Reubens Swanson; Honorable mention -- Trent Koloski, Colton Lindquist

Hillcrest Lutheran Academy (0-12) -- Honorable mention -- Zayne Weinrich, Evan Lindgren


ALL-CONFERENCE MEMBERS BY TEAM -- Brandon-Evansville (13-1) -- First team -- Bailey Schaefer (MVP), Mikenna Pattrin (Pitcher of the Year), Sydney Schaefer, Taylin Kramer; Honorable mention -- Korrie Randt, Kylee Dingwall; Coach of the Year -- Kasi Sieling

Hancock (10-4) -- First team - Carlee Hanson, Rylee Hanson, Tori Pahl; Second team - Jordan Hausmann; Honorable mention - Lexi Staples, Lindsey Mattson

Clinton-Graceville-Beardsley (10-3) -- First team - Lora Botker; Second team - Reanna Ward, Hayley Ward; Honorable mention - Alaina Andrews

West Central Area (8-5) -- First team - Addison Staples, Emma Swenson; Second team - Madi Hansen; Honorable mention - Claire Stark, Alaina Sykora

Wheaton-Herman-Norcross (6-8) -- Second team - Carly Fuentes, Jordyn Perry; Honorable mention - Lydia Vipond


Ashby (4-10) -- Second team - Anna Thormodson, Anissa Heinrich; Honorable mention - Ryleigh Brendmoen

Ortonville (1-11) -- Second team - Kelly Erickson; Honorable mention - Melissa Wellendorf

Hillcrest Lutheran Academy (1-11) -- Mackenzie Foss

Eric Morken is a sports and outdoor editor at the Echo Press Newspaper in Alexandria, Minnesota, a property of the Forum News Service. Morken covers a variety of stories throughout the Douglas County area, as well as statewide outdoor issues.
What To Read Next
Get Local