Hetland named MVP as Silverstreaks honor athletes after fall season

Senior fullback/linebacker Isaac Hetland earned Osakis football's MVP, along with being named the district's most valuable running back after scoring 15 total touchdowns in just five games this past fall season.

OsFB TeamAwards.jpg
Osakis football team award winners are (back, left to right) Isaac Hetland, MVP; Duncan Vandergon, Offensive MVP; Brock Faber, Defensive MVP; Carter Watnaas, MV Receiver; Brady Mages, MV Defensive Lineman; (front) Bauer Klimek, MV Offensive Back; Waylon Muenzhuber, MV Offensive Lineman; Carsten Jacobsen, MV Defensive Back; Blake Rousslang, Special Teams POY. Not pictured are Jason Wiggins, Silverstreak Award; and Ryan Engstrom, Most Improved. (Contributed photo)

The Osakis football team handed out its season-ending awards recently to put a wrap on the 2020 season and senior linebacker/fullback Isaac Hetland was named the Silverstreaks’ MVP.

Hetland played both ways for the Silverstreaks during his career and finished with 798 rushing yards, 15 total touchdowns and 7 two-point conversions in just five games this season. That’s after piling up 14 touchdowns and 901 yards on 161 carries as a junior . He added 32 tackles and a sack defensively in 2020.

OsFB AllDistrict.jpg
Osakis football all-district players in 2020 were (left to right) Brock Faber, Isaac Hetland and Duncan Vandergon. (Contributed photo)

Hetland racked up the honors after the season as his offensive work earned him the Most Valuable Running Back Award in the Mid State (Sub 2) District. Lineman Brock Faber and running back Duncan Vandergon joined him as all-district players.


Juniors Bauer Klimek and Brady Mages earned honorable-mention status on the all-district team. Hetland, Faber, Waylon Muenzhuber, Carter Watnaas, Klimek, Mages and Caleb Goodwin were also named All-Section 6AA players.

OsFB AllSectionTeam.jpg
All-Section 6AA players for the Osakis football team are (left to right) Isaac Hetland, Brock Faber, Waylon Muenzhuber, Carter Watnaas, Bauer Klimek and Brady Mages. Not pictured is Caleb Goodwin. (Contributed photo)

Vandergon earned Osakis’ team Offensive MVP Award. Vandergon had 652 yards on 98 carries to go with four touchdowns and four two-point conversions.

Faber was the Silverstreaks’ defensive MVP after tallying 27 tackles and forcing a fumble. Mages earned the Most Valuable Defensive Lineman Award, while Carsten Jacobsen was the team’s most valuable defensive back.

On the offensive side, Watnaas earned the Most Valuable Receiver Award. He led the passing game with eight receptions for 145 yards and a touchdown.

Klimek was named the team’s most valuable offensive back after starting his first year at quarterback. Klimek threw for 255 yards and two touchdowns, while rushing for 135 yards and three more scores.

Muenzhuber earned the Most Valuable Offensive Lineman Award. Blake Rousslang was the special teams player of the year, and Jason Wiggins and Ryan Engstrom earned the Silverstreak and Most Improved Awards, respectively.


Osakis finished 3-2 overall after having its season shortened due to the pandemic and having to cancel the first two games of the season. The Silverstreaks won their only Section 6AA playoff game on Nov. 20, beating Pillager in a 34-12 final .

OsFB HonorableMention AllDistrict.jpg
Honorable-mention all-district players for Osakis were Bauer Klimek (left) and Brady Mages. (Contributed photo)

Eric Morken is a sports and outdoor editor at the Echo Press Newspaper in Alexandria, Minnesota, a property of the Forum News Service. Morken covers a variety of stories throughout the Douglas County area, as well as statewide outdoor issues.
What To Read Next
Get Local