Girls hockey: Cardinals honor success on and off the ice

1 Mayson Toft DSC5771.jpg
Alexandria senior Mayson Toft looks for an open teammate against Red Wing early this season. Toft brought home a huge list of honors from the Cardinals' postseason banquet as she was voted the team's best defensive player, along with earning All-Section 8AA, All-Central Lakes Conference and honorable-mention all-state honors. She also earned academic all-state recognition with a GPA of 3.8 or higher. (Jared Rubado / Echo Press)

The Alexandria girls hockey team pushed itself with a competitive schedule in its first year at the Class AA level this past winter and came out with another winning campaign behind a talented roster.

That group handed out its season-ending awards after a 17-7-3 season as Kaci Trosvig brought home the Offensive Player of the Year Award, and Mayson Toft won the Defensive Player of the Year Award for the second straight season.

Kaci Trosvig

Trosvig had 29 points with 17 goals and 12 assists through the regular season and the playoffs. That led the team in goals.


Toft, who recently signed her letter of intent to play at the University of Wisconsin, was voted by her teammates as the Cardinals’ best defender, and she also scored 26 points with 12 goals and 14 assists. Those 26 points were third highest on the team.

Toft racked up a bunch of honors during her senior season. The list included a second straight season where she was named all-state honorable mention. Toft was also an All-Section 8AA player with teammate Anna Doherty, and earned All-Central Lakes Conference recognition with Doherty and Trosvig. Marki Oberg, MaKenna Aure, Hanley Block and Lauren Maras were honorable-mention All-CLC.

Anna Doherty

Doherty was voted by her teammates as this team’s hardest worker. She finished first in points at 33 with 10 goals and a team-best 23 assists.

Jordan O'Kane

Sophomore goaltender Jordan O’Kane earned the Cardinals’ Most-Improved Player Award. O’Kane finished with a 10-5-1 overall record by posting a .915 save percentage and a 1.89 goals-against average while splitting time in net with fellow sophomore Hailee Bailey.


Senior Meg Shercliffe rounded out Alexandria’s team-voted award winners by getting the Above the Line Player/Person Award that goes to the player who best demonstrates a positive attitude on a consistent basis throughout the season. It’s the second straight season Shercliffe has won this award, and she also earned the Hobey Baker Character Award from her coaches. This award is given to one player for each team throughout the state.

Meg Shercliffe

In addition to their success on the ice, Alexandria also saw three players earn academic all-state awards in Shercliffe, Sidney Drew and Toft. This honor goes to seniors with GPAs of 3.8 or higher.

ALEXANDRIA GIRLS HOCKEY LETTER WINNERS - SENIORS - Elle Murphy, Paige Boesl, Kaitlyn Rogers, Sidney Drew, Meg Shercliffe, Micah Summer, Mayson Toft, Alsacia Halbe; JUNIORS - Anna Doherty, Marki Oberg, Reise Waldorf, Ali Castle, Ella Johnston; SOPHOMORES - Kaci Trosvig, Jordan O’Kane, MaKenna Aure, Hailee Bailey, Hanley Block, Peyton Boesl, Riley Nyberg; FRESHMEN - Lauren Maras, Ella Westlund

Eric Morken is a sports and outdoor editor at the Echo Press Newspaper in Alexandria, Minnesota, a property of the Forum News Service. Morken covers a variety of stories throughout the Douglas County area, as well as statewide outdoor issues.
What To Read Next
Get Local