Freshman Jacob Taplin named MVP after leading Osakis in wins

Osakis wrestling recognizes athletes who helped lead the Silverstreaks on the mat this season.

osWR award winners.jpg
Osakis wrestling team award winners include (left to right) Jacob Taplin, Most Valuable, Phil Benedict Takedown Award; Logan Grove, OHS Pin Award; Carsten Jacobson, Silverstreak Award; and Gavin Cimbura, Most Escapes. Not pictured from the banquet are Kale Drevlow, Most Reversals; and Tyson Hagedon, Most Improved. (Contributed photo)

Osakis wrestling had just two team wins during this past winter season with a shorthanded roster, but first-year head coach Doug Johnson liked the progress he saw from a lot of the athletes who competed for the Silverstreaks.

Osakis had that pay off by sending three wrestlers to the state preliminary rounds in senior Logan Grove (22-9), sophomore Kale Drevlow (21-11) and freshman Jacob Taplin (24-6). All three brought home team-award honors from the postseason banquet.

Taplin looks to have a bright future ahead of him after being named Osakis’ MVP this season. The 9th-grader was dominant in many of his matches at 106 pounds on his way to winning the Silverstreaks’ Phil Benedict Takedown Award for the most takedowns on the team.
Grove earned the OHS Pin Award for leading the Silverstreaks in falls. Drevlow was the team-leader in reversals. Tyson Hagedon also earned a team honor as the most-improved wrestler, while Gavin Cimbura was the team leader in escapes.

Eric Morken is a sports and outdoor editor at the Echo Press Newspaper in Alexandria, Minnesota, a property of the Forum News Service. Morken covers a variety of stories throughout the Douglas County area, as well as statewide outdoor issues.
What To Read Next
Get Local