Four Brandon-Evansville players named All-District 9-West (South)

Senior Tyler Bitzan earns the league's Defensive Player of the Year Award, while Katrina Buchholz and Logan Haburn were also honorable-mention selections after Bitzan, Titus Fuller, John Roers and Aaron Gillespie were named all-sub-district players.

The Brandon-Evansville football team had four players named as all-sub-district athletes when the teams were announced from the District 9-West (South) recently.

Senior Tyler Bitzan (RB/LB) earned a special honor as he was named the sub-district defensive player of the year. Bitzan had 54.5 total tackles this season with 7.5 tackles for loss, three interceptions, two fumbles forced and one fumble recovery. Bitzan also led the Chargers’ run game with 1,069 yards and 10 touchdowns on 169 carries.

Joining Bitzan as all-sub-district players from the Chargers are seniors Titus Fuller (QB/DB) and John Roers (RB/LB), and junior Aaron Gillespie (OL/DL). Fuller ran for 787 yards and 13 touchdowns on 118 carries. He was 52-of-105 passing for 622 yards, 9 touchdowns and 4 interceptions. Fuller also had a team-high 5 interceptions defensively.

Roers was B-E’s second-leading tackler with 57.5 takedowns. He had 7.5 tackles for loss.

Senior Katrina Buchholz (OL/LB) and sophomore Logan Haburn (RB/LB) were honorable-mention selections. Haburn led the Chargers in tackles with 63.5, including 3.5 tackles for loss, while also forcing two fumbles and recovering two fumbles.


Brandon-Evansville (5-5 overall) was 4-3 in district play this season. Hancock and Verndale both finished undefeated in the league with the Owls going 7-0 and the Pirates finishing 8-0.

Gideon Ervasti of Verndale was named the sub-district MVP. Zach Braatan of Wheaton was the offensive player of the year, while other top honors went to Eli Olsson (Verndale, lineman of the year), Matt Thompson (Hancock, receiver of the year), Clint Determan (Wheaton, special teams player of the year), and Chad Christensen (Hancock) and Mike Mahlen (Verndale) as co-head coaches of the year.

2021 District 9-West (South) Awards

HANCOCK (7-0) - Matt Thompson (WR/DE), Toby Messner (FB/DL), Davin Rose (QB/LB), Dain Schroeder (OL/LB), Jackson Koehl (WR/LB), Chase Evink, (RB/LB)

VERNDALE (8-0) - Gideon Ervasti (RB/LB), Ben Brownlow (RB/DB), Dilan Orlando (QB/DB), Brandon Greenwaldt (TE/DE), Eli Olsson (OL/DL), Zak Olsson (WR/DB)

WHEATON-HERMAN-NORCROSS (6-2) - Zach Braaten (QB/DE), Hunter Blume (WR/LB), Joe Krenz (OL/DL), Bryant Callenius (WR/LB), Clint Determan (WR/DB/K/P)

HILLCREST LUTHERAN (5-3) - Caden Fisher (QB/S), Zayne Weinrich (WR/LB), Joel Bowman (WR/CB), Evan Lindgren (RB/CB)

BRANDON-EVANSVILLE (4-3) - Tyler Bitzan (RB/LB), Titus Fuller (QB/DB), Aaron Gillespie (OL/DL), John Roers (RB/LB)


ORTONVILLE (3-5) - Daunte Fetters (RB/CB), Carter Brown (QB/LB), Nathan Gustafson (RB/LB)

BERTHA-HEWITT (2-6) - Kole Weishalla (QB/DB), Aidan Bryniarski (RB/LB)

SEBEKA (2-6) - Eion Ness (RB/LB), Hank Tellers (QB/DB)

ROTHSAY (1-7) - Tanner Heier (LB)

Eric Morken is a sports and outdoor editor at the Echo Press Newspaper in Alexandria, Minnesota, a property of the Forum News Service. Morken covers a variety of stories throughout the Douglas County area, as well as statewide outdoor issues.
What To Read Next
The Cardinals have won four games in a row and have outscored their last four opponents 24-3.
Douglas County area basketball, swimming and diving, hockey, nordic skiing and wrestling for Thursday, Jan. 26, 2023.
Alexandria had a solid number of top times but was edged out by four points by Sauk Rapids-Rice.
Alexandria recorded a couple of personal bests in its dual against Sartell on Tuesday.