Fletcher, Eddy, Fettig and Kent earn MVP honors for Alexandria

Alexandria gymnasts recognized on floor, vault, bars and beam.

axGYM team.jpg
Members of the 2020-2021 Alexandria gymnastics team include (back, left to right) Isabelle Johnson, Ailynn Fettig, Rachel Boyden, Kelsey Fletcher, Miriam Anderson, Hailie Kent, Ellie Rauk, (middle row) assistant coach Adrienne Meyer, assistant coach Nichole Boyden, Tatiana Cantwell, Skylar Makela, Addison Fettig, Addison Twa, Sara Eddy, Kate Boyden, Abby Scheller, Amaya Hughes, Dylan Witt, Addison Gulbranson, Mia Haugen, head coach Tayler Kaufman, (front row) Jamie Aldis, Ashlyn Violette, Chloe Steele, Hannah Skillings, Maya Perry, Zoie Roemer, Kiera Christenson, Savannah Auran, Natalya Cantwell and McKenzie Huwe. (Photo by Jeff Roste)

The Alexandria gymnastics program handed out four MVP awards to different athletes in each event with Kelsey Fletcher, Sara Eddy, Ailynn Fettig and Hailie Kent all earning that honor.

Fletcher was the MVP on the floor. The senior qualified for the Class A state meet on the floor, vault and bars from the Section 8AA meet. She highlighted that experience at state with a seventh-place finish on the vault with a personal-best score of 9.7.

Fettig was Alexandria’s MVP on bars, while Kent took home that honor on the beam and Eddy was the vault MVP for the varsity team.

Amaya Hughes earned the Most Improved Award for the Cardinals, and Kiera Christensen was named the team’s hardest worker.

Fletcher, Rachel Boyden, who injured her knee ahead of this past winter season, and Miriam Anderson were the three seniors for the Cardinals going into the season. It is a group that should return a lot of athletes next winter as Alexandria tries to keep building with a young nucleus.


ALEXANDRIA GYMNASTICS LETTER WINNERS - Abby Scheller, Dylan Witt, Addison Twa, Miriam Anderson, Sara Eddy, Amaya Hughes, Ailynn Fettig, Hailie Kent, Kelsey Fletcher, Rachel Boyden

JV AWARD WINNERS - MVP vault - Abby Scheller; MVP bars - Addison Gulbranson; MVP beam - Ellie Rauk; MVP floor - Miriam Anderson; Jenna Logregren Memorial Award (given each season since 1987 to middle school gymnast with creative dance, leaps and jumps on beam and floor) - Kate Boyden

Eric Morken is a sports and outdoor editor at the Echo Press Newspaper in Alexandria, Minnesota, a property of the Forum News Service. Morken covers a variety of stories throughout the Douglas County area, as well as statewide outdoor issues.
What To Read Next
Get Local