A big field of runners gathered for the Perham Invitational on Thursday with Minnewaska being a part of the talented field that competed there.

The Lakers finished 14th on the girls’ side with 390 points. Lakeville South won the meet with 83, while Perham (90) and Fargo North (107) rounded out the top three.

Sydney Hagen paced the Lakers in a time of 21:47.9, while Sydnie Chevalier was not far behind in 22:05.5. Sydney Perry (22:22.5), Ava Chevalier (22:35.5), Elsey Hagen (22:42.4), Molly Hjelm (22:54) and Kiearra Wilmes (22:58.7) rounded out the varsity lineup.

Jade Rypkema of Nevis, a freshman, won the girls race in 18:15.9, almost four seconds faster than Brianne Brewster of Lakeville South in second at 18:19.1.

The Minnewaska boys were 26th out of 29 teams as the Lakers finished with 758 points. Perham won the boys meet with 40 points. Bemidji was second at 66 and Fargo North rounded out the top three with 88.

Eighth-grader Maeson Tank led the Lakers in a time of 19:12.6. Tank is part of a very young group for the Lakers as four freshmen in Nick Ankeny (20:18.2), Logan Maanum (20:31.1), James Ward (20:37.5) and Jaden Anderson (21:07.5) were next in line for Minnewaska. Dylan Stryhn, a sophomore, rounded out the varsity lineup in a time of 25:14.2.

Brandon O’Hara of Perham won the individual boys race in 15:55.7.