Carlson named all-state, back of the year as Chargers hand out team awards

Brandon-Evansville football honors six athletes with team-voted awards to wrap up the fall season.

beFB 0560.jpg
Cade Carlson breaks an arm tackle during Brandon-Evansville's game against Hancock in the season finale. Carlson earned the Chargers' Back of the Year Award after leading the team in rushing and finished third in tackles. He was also named to the all-district and 9-man all-state teams. (Photo by Jared Rubado / Echo Press)

Brandon-Evansville senior Cade Carlson wrapped up his Chargers’ football career by piling up a lot of awards that included a 9-man all-state honor.

Carlson was one of three B-E players with Kyle Schaffran and Tyler Bitzan to be named to the all-district team. In team-voted awards that were announced recently, Carlson won the Back of the Year honor after helping to anchor the offense and defense at running back and linebacker.

Cade Carlson / Back of the Year, 9-man all-state

Carlson led the Chargers in rushing yards at 631 on 128 carries (4.9 YPC). He averaged 105.2 yards-per game as he added a team-leading four touchdowns on the ground. Carlson was also second on the team in total tackles at 31.5.


Kyle Schaffran / Special Teams POY, Dallas Hanson Desire Award

Schaffran earned two team honors in the Nick Lundeen Dedication Award and the Special Teams Player of the Year Award. He had a knack for making the big play by averaging 30.1 yards per catch on eight receptions. He scored four touchdowns and also had a team-best four pass breakups and two interceptions on defense.

Mike Cochran / Lineman of the Year

Mike Cochran was named the team’s lineman of the year. Cochran forced two fumbles and recovered two more, while also tying for third on the team with 30 tackles. His eight tackles for a team loss were a team best.

Ben Seifert / Rookie of the Year


Ben Seifert was the team rookie of the year. Seifert had 9.5 tackles defensively, including 1.5 for loss. He also forced one fumble.

Stephen Hamilton / Team Scout Player of the Year

Steve Hamilton was the team scout player of the year, and Logan Haburn earned the Dallas Hanson Desire Award. Haburn had 11.5 total tackles, while Hamilton added 1.5 tackles, including getting in on a tackle for loss.

Logan Haburn / Dallas Hanson Desire Award

Brandon-Evansville finished as a Gold Team Academic Award winner for the players’ work in the classroom. Senior quarterback Kobe Reiland was a big part of that as he earned a 9-man academic all-state award.


ReilandKobe20 2.jpg
Kobe Reiland

The Chargers finished their season 3-3 with a young nucleus getting some experience at the varsity level.

Eric Morken is a sports and outdoor editor at the Echo Press Newspaper in Alexandria, Minnesota, a property of the Forum News Service. Morken covers a variety of stories throughout the Douglas County area, as well as statewide outdoor issues.
What To Read Next
Get Local