Just like the boys from West Central Area dominated the postseason honors from the Pheasant Conference, the girls from WCA did the same.

The Knights won the Pheasant Conference championship with an 11-1 league record behind conference MVP Lexi Bright. The sophomore guard averaged 20.2 points, 5.5 rebounds, 4.7 steals and 2.8 assists per game.

Bright was one of three WCA players named to the all-conference team as Brynn Fernholz and Hailey Bennett also earned that honor. Fernholz put in 8.1 points a night, while Bennett averaged 7.8 points. The Knights’ Elizabeth Rustan was one of four honorable-mention selections from the conference as Rustan put in 5.4 points and grabbed 4.4 rebounds per game.

Brandon-Evansville junior Bailey Schaefer and junior center Mikenna Pattrin were All-Pheasant Conference selections, and teammate Kristen Kokett was honorable mention.

Schaefer finished with 255 points (9.8 PPG) and 96 rebounds (3.7 RPG). Pattrin led the team in scoring with 312 points (12 PPG) and in rebounds with 184 (7.1 RPG), while Kokett finished with 139 points (5.3 PPG), 86 rebounds (3.3 RPG) and 82 steals (3.2 RPG).

The Chargers were 7-5 in the conference, good for third place.

Hancock finished second in the Pheasant Conference at 10-2. Owls’ head coach Tony Thielke won the Coach of the Year Award. The Owls had four players named all-conference in Rylee Hanson, Carlee Hanson, Alexis Staples and Tori Pahl.


WEST CENTRAL AREA - Lexi Bright (MVP), Hailey Bennett, Brynn Fernholz; Honorable mention - Elizabeth Rustan

HANCOCK - Rylee Hanson, Carlee Hanson, Alexis Staples, Tori Pahl

BRANDON-EVANSVILLE - Bailey Schaefer, Mikenna Pattrin; Honorable mention - Kristen Kokett

WHEATON-HERMAN-NORCROSS - Maycee Tolifson, Isabelle Schmidt


CLINTON-GRACEVILLE-BEARDSLEY - Lora Botker, Reanna Ward; Honorable mention - Jessica Moberg

ORTONVILLE - Honorable mention - Emily Ross

COACH OF THE YEAR - Tony Thielke - Hancock