Ashby-Brandon-Evansville honor eight athletes with team awards

Kobe Reiland, Cailey Schlosser named MVP for A-B-E.

Ashby-Brandon-Evansville track and field team award winners are (left to right) Ashley Paulson, Newcomer Award; Solomon Wales, Newcomer Award; Deklin Goeden, Heart of a Champion Award; Lucea Wales, Most Improved; Derick Novotny, Most Improved; and Cailey Schlosser, MVP. Not Pictured are Kobe Reiland, boys' MVP; and Gretchen Bredberg, girls' Heart of a Champion Award winner. (Contributed photo)

The Ashby-Brandon-Evansville track and field team named Kobe Reiland and Cailey Schlosser as its MVPs from this past spring season.

Reiland wrapped up his career by finishing eighth in the 110-meter hurdles (17.58) and 10th in the 300 hurdles (45.58) at the section championship.

ReilandKobe20 2.jpg
Kobe Reiland

Schlosser qualified for the section meet in the discus where she finished 10th overall with a throw of 80 feet. The senior was fourth at the subsection meet with a throw of 86-4.


Junior Derick Novotny was the boys’ Most Improved Award winner. Novotny qualified for the Section 6A meet in the 100-meter dash where he took sixth place in a time of 11.92 seconds. He was also part of the 4x100 relay team that took fourth in the section in 46.36 and the 4x200 team that finished eighth (1:37.32).

Solomon Wales, a freshman, earned A-B-E’s Newcomer Award for the boys. He wrapped up his season with a 10th-place finish at the Section 6A meet in the 3200 run (11:10.03) and by anchoring the 4x800 relay team that finished seventh in sections (9:21.10).

Deklin Goeden wrapped up A-B-E’s team award winners for the boys as he earned the Heart of a Champion Award. Goeden was a senior for this group who finished 12th at the subsection meet in the shot put (33-10) and seventh in the discus (110-10).

Sophomore Gretchen Bredberg earned the Heart of a Champion Award for the girls. Her season included running the 1600 at the Pheasant Conference championship meet where she was eighth in 6:47.01.

Freshman Lucea Wales earned her team’s Most Improved Award. Wales showed a lot of versatility by competing at the subsection meet in the 800-meter run (17th, 2:58), triple jump (seventh, 33-0.25), 4x200 relay (fifth, 1:56.69) and 4x800 relay (fourth, 11:18.56).

Ashley Paulsen is another freshman for A-B-E who competed in multiple events at the subsection meet. She earned the team’s Newcomer Award after running the 1600-meter race (ninth, 6:46.62), the 4x400 relay (fourth, 4:51.82) and the 4x800 relay (fourth, 11:18.56), while also throwing the discus at subsections.

Eric Morken is a sports and outdoor editor at the Echo Press Newspaper in Alexandria, Minnesota, a property of the Forum News Service. Morken covers a variety of stories throughout the Douglas County area, as well as statewide outdoor issues.
What To Read Next
Get Local