The West Central Area girls basketball team won a Pheasant Conference championship this winter season, and the Knights were led by three all-league players.

Freshman guard Lexi Bright won the first of what could be multiple Pheasant Conference MVP Awards in her career as she helped the Knights to a 7-1 league record and 19-7 mark overall. Bright put up numbers fitting of an upperclassmen-a team-high 441 points to average almost 17 per game. She shot 49.9 percent overall and 45.8 percent from three, while adding 3.38 assists and 4.12 rebounds per game on top of leading WCA with 112 steals.

Senior forward Ella Van Kempen and junior guard Hailey Bennett joined Bright on the All-Pheasant Conference team. Van Kempen put up 427 points this season (16.4 PPG) by shooting 52.3 percent from the field. She added a team-high 232 rebounds (8.9 RPG) and 113 blocks.

Bennett was third on the team in scoring (229 total, 8.8 PPG) and grabbed 71 rebounds and dished out 44 assists. The Knights' Morgan Woodle was also an honorable-mention selection for the all-conference team after finishing second for WCA in rebounding (124).

Brandon-Evansville went 10-2 in the Pheasant Conference and joined the Knights in placing three athletes on the all-league team. Senior guard Sara Jacobson, junior guard Haddey Zastrow and sophomore center Mikenna Pattrin received that honor, while Brittany Korkowski and Madison Quinn were honorable-mention selections.

In addition to having the league MVP, WCA also had the league's Coach of the Year in Eric Schoenbauer. He led the Knights to their second straight winning season after they finished 19-8 overall during the 2017-18 season.


WCA - Lexi Bright (MVP), Ella Van Kempen, Hailey Bennett; Honorable mention - Morgan Woodle

B-E - Sara Jacobson, Haddey Zastrow, Mikenna Pattrin; Honorable mention - Madison Quinn, Brittany Korkowski

CGB - Emma Botker, Reanna Ward; Honorable mention - Mataiah Turner, Lora Botker

WHN - Haley Johnson, Maycee Tolifson; Honorable mention - Isabella Schmidt

HANCOCK - Rylee Hanson, Carlee Hanson; Honorable mention - Alexis Staples

ORTONVILLE - Jaiden Conroy; Honorable mention - Carissa Vanderwal, Allyssa Kirchberg

HILLCREST LUTHERAN - Olivia Foss; Honorable mention - Mackenzie Foss

COACH OF THE YEAR - Eric Schoenbauer, WCA