A young Brandon-Evansville football team handed out its team awards and named junior Marshall Riedel as its back of the year.

Riedel stepped into the shoes of a couple talented departed seniors in Taylor Bitzan and Jake Hintermeister and became another 1,000-yard rusher for the Chargers by finishing with 1,059 yards on 158 carries. He added a team-high 15 touchdowns on the ground and another five on receiving scores while tallying 287 yards through the air.

Paving the way for Riedel and other backs on this team was the lone senior on the roster in Chris Vinson, who was named B-E's lineman of the year.

Sam Fuller earned the team's Rookie of the Year Award. The junior led B-E in receiving yards with 303 on 17 catches. He added five touchdowns through the air.

Cade Carlson was the special teams player of the year. Carlson had 230 kick return yards and added 221 yards on the ground.

Mike Cochran took home the Scout Team Player of the Year Award and Andrew Johnson earned the Dallas Hanson "Desire" Award. Johnson, a junior who helped anchor things up front on the line, was also an all-section award winner.

The Chargers played in the District 9 West (South) Division this season and went 4-4 in the league. They had three players named all-district performers in Riedel, junior quarterback Keagan Schiele and junior fullback/linebacker Tanner Bitzan.

Vinson, Fuller and Johnson were honorable-mention selections. Schiele threw for 860 yards, 15 touchdowns and eight interceptions on 56-of-124 passing.

Bitzan was named the district's defensive MVP and was a 9-man all-state nominee. He led the Chargers with 68.5 tackles, including 35 solo takedowns. Eight of those tackles came in the backfield for a loss.

With Vinson being the lone senior on this team, Brandon-Evansville is expected to return a huge nucleus as the Chargers try to improve upon a 4-5 season overall in 2019.