Two new board members took their oath of office during the Osakis School Board meeting Monday, Jan. 11.

Justin Dahlheimer and Amy Schoeck-Weisser were elected to the school board in November and will take over the seats previously held by Tom Grundman and Genny LeBrun.

Justin Dahlheimer
Justin Dahlheimer

Amy Schoeck-Weisser
Amy Schoeck-Weisser

LeBrun, however, will remain a school board member, as she was appointed in December to the seat previously held by Chris George, who died Saturday, Dec. 5, after a heart attack.

Newsletter signup for email alerts

She will fill the position until this fall, when the school board will hold a special election.

School board member Mike Collins, who was reelected in November to his seat, also took his Oath of Office at the Monday meeting.

Additionally, school board members elected officers. Becky Hensley was once again voted in as chairperson, while the role of vice chairperson will be held by Collins and the roles of clerk and treasurer will be held by Schoeck-Weisser and Dahlheimer, respectively.

In other action, the school board approved the Echo Press as the school district’s official newspaper and approved the First National Bank of Osakis, Minnesota School District Liquid Asset Fund and MN Trust as its depositories.

Board members also set their salary, which remained the same as last year – $65 per meeting for attending within the school district and then they may also receive $65 per meeting for attending a meeting out of the district when a claim is turned in.

The chairperson also receives $250 while the clerk receives $200.

Regular meeting dates and time were also set and will continue to be the second Monday of each month at 5:30 p.m.