Township election results are in for Douglas County

Township elections were held on Tuesday, March 14, in all but five of the 20 townships in Douglas County.

EP Douglas County

ALEXANDRIA — Township elections were held on Tuesday, March 14, in all but five of the 20 townships in Douglas County.

Here’s a look at the results:


Incumbent supervisors Dennis Butz and Jerry Wright were re-elected. There were 18 votes total.

Belle River

Mary Wessel was elected to a supervisor position with 46 votes.


Incumbent supervisor Tony Wright was re-elected to a three-year term.


Additionally, Evansville Township residents elected to move to November township elections.

Holmes City

Incumbent supervisor Darin Weisel was re-elected, with 13 votes.


Jeffrey Tvrdik and Scott Tvrdik were elected to supervisor positions with 25 and 26 votes, respectively.

Cindy Van Luik was elected to the two-year treasurer position with 27 votes.


Michelle Elmer was elected to a three-year supervisor position, with 20 votes.

Lake Mary

Incumbent supervisor James Schmidt and incumbent treasurer Christy Tvrdik were re-elected, with 21 votes each.

Leaf Valley

Brent Ost and Bob Hansen were elected to supervisor positions, with 40 and 39 votes, respectively.

Incumbent treasurer Barb Guenther was re-elected to the two-year position with 40 votes.



Incumbent supervisor Jon Ford and incumbent treasurer Tracy Zickur were re-elected with 16 votes each.


Michael Bramwell was elected to a three-year supervisor position.

Laura Piehl was elected to a two-year treasurer position.


Incumbent supervisor Lynn Bushard was re-elected with 38 votes. Incumbent treasurer Amanda Topel was re-elected with 31 votes.


Incumbent supervisor David Boogaard and incumbent treasurer Barb Boogaard were re-elected with 13 votes each.


Incumbent supervisor Curtis Hamen was re-elected to the three-year position.

Incumbent treasurer Kevin Holl was re-elected to the two-year position.

Spruce Hill

One three-year supervisor position was open.


One two-year treasurer position was open.


Incumbent Scott Hall and Jerry Johnson were elected to supervisor positions. Additionally, Richard Pautsch was appointed to fill the spot previously filled by Brent Johnson, starting April 1.

Travis Gulbrandson covers several beats, including Osakis School Board and Osakis City Council, along with the Brandon-Evansville School Board. His focus will also be on crime and court news.
What To Read Next
Get Local