Runestone Electric Association members gather for annual meeting, go over assets, elect directors

The cooperative reported assets of over $95 million with 14,700 accounts at the end of 2020.

REA Board of Directors.jpg
The Runestone Electric Association Board of Directors include, left to right front row, Mike Loken, Alexandria (District 5); Audrey Hjelle, Barrett (District 3); Barbara Johnson, Miltona (District 2); Clif Patrick, Alexandria (District 6); and Matthew Mattson, Kensington (District 7), back row left to right, Gary (Andy) Anderson, Parkers Prairie (District 1) and David Staples, Kensington (District 4). (Contributed photo)

Runestone Electric Association celebrated the 84th annual meeting of the cooperative at the Alexandria Area High School on Thursday, Aug. 19.

The 2020 annual meeting had been canceled due to COVID-19 restrictions. This year’s meeting was delayed until August to allow for an in-person gathering.

“Thank you to everyone who took time on a beautiful summer evening to spend an hour learning about current activities at Runestone Electric Association,” said REA CEO Al Haman. “I especially appreciated the opportunity to answer questions and receive feedback.”

During the business meeting, Board President Barbara Johnson and CEO Al Haman gave reports on the activities and financial condition of the cooperative. The cooperative reported assets of over $95 million with 14,700 accounts at the end of 2020.

“I want to assure you that the cooperative is on solid financial footing, and we look forward to serving our members in the best way possible so that when you flip that switch, the lights always come on,” said President Johnson.


REA’s bylaws allow for uncontested director elections to be elected by acclamation. Since the 2020 Annual Meeting could not be held, director elections from 2020 and 2021 were elected during the meeting.

For the 2020 election, Audrey Hjelle was re-elected in District 3, and Clif Patrick was re-elected in District 6. For this year’s election, Barbara Johnson was re-elected in District 2, and Mike Loken was re-elected in District 5.

In addition to the board of director’s election, REA members approved proposed changes to the bylaws to allow for virtual annual meetings if needed.

Immediately following the adjournment of the annual meeting, the board of directors held a re-organizational meeting to elect officers for the coming year. Elected to their positions were Barbara Johnson from District 2, President; Audrey Hjelle from District 3, Vice President; Gary (Andy) Anderson from District 1, Secretary; and Mike Loken from District 4, Treasurer. Other directors on the board include Clif Patrick, Matthew Mattson, and David Staples.

Runestone Electric Association serves more than 14,800 accounts in the rural areas of Douglas, Pope, Grant, Stevens, Ottertail, Stearns, and Todd counties.

Related Topics: ALEXANDRIA
What To Read Next
The thefts have been increasing in Douglas County and across the country.
Kenneth Rosario, 53, of Starbuck, is charged with a felony fifth degree controlled substance crime.
Representatives from area school districts say that, if passed, this legislation could have positive impacts on the schools.
No one was seriously injured when the top exploded off the silo because of built-up gasses from the burning corn.