Update 11:15 p.m. Unofficial Alex School Board results show Reilly, Lommen advance, along with Susag, Knudsen

The newspaper will be following three local primary races.

Ballots started to come in at about 8:30 p.m. at the Douglas County Courthouse for the Aug. 9 primary. The City of Nelson was the first precinct to report followed by Brandon Township, shown above.
Al Edenloff / Alexandria Echo Press

ALEXANDRIA โ€” With all 25 precincts reporting, Shawn Reilly and Lynn Lommen are the winners in one school board race and Sandy Susag and Laura Knudsen are the winners in the other primary race.
Results are unofficial.
The two top vote-getters for each seat will appear on the ballot this November.

Here are the races in the primary that the newspaper is following:

Alexandria School Board, position 3

25 of 25 precincts reporting
Lynne Lommen โ€” 1,442
Joel Novak โ€” 645
Greg Odell โ€” 521
Shawn Reilly โ€” 1,880
(The long-time incumbent, Dr. Dean Anderson, decided not to file for re-election.)

Alexandria School Board, position 4

25 of 25 precincts reporting
Sandy Susag (incumbent) โ€” 2,240
Laura Knudsen โ€” 1,744
Dennis Conn (he's on the ballot but he withdrew from the race) โ€” 515

Minnesota Senate District 9

183 precincts in contest. 17 of 17 precincts in Douglas County reporting (total district-wide totals from all precincts are in parenthesis)
Jordan Rasmusson โ€” 495 (5,738)
Nathan Miller โ€” 685 (5,385)
(Both are Republicans. The winner of the primary will appear on the ballot against DFL-endorsed Cornel Walker of Fergus Falls this November.)

Al Edenloff is the editor of the twice-weekly Echo Press. He started his journalism career when he was in 10th grade, writing football and basketball stories for the Parkers Prairie Independent.
What To Read Next
Get Local