Douglas County commissioners approve redistricting boundaries

The new boundaries won't impact this year's election. There are still three county commissioners who will be on the ballot.

New County Boundaries.jpg
The map shows the new redistricting boundaries for Douglas County commissioners.

DOUGLAS COUNTY – Residents may be voting for a different county commissioner this November depending on where they live.

With changes made in both the legislative and Alexandria city ward boundaries, Douglas County has followed suit and approved the redistricting of existing county commissioner districts at the regular board meeting Tuesday, April 5.

These changes take place because every 10 years following the census, all levels of government where district elections are held are required to review their voting districts for the purpose of equalizing the population representation.

The changes were approved by a vote of 4-1 with Commissioner Charlie Meyer being the “no” vote. When asked why he voted against the changes, Meyer simply said, “I am a little disappointed I didn’t have any input.”

The changes to Meyer’s district didn’t have any impact on elections this fall as his seat is up for reelection anyway.


Here is a look at the changes to each of the district’s and who will now represent what area of the county.

  • Commissioner District 1 (Keith Englund) does not change and his district has a total population of 7,446 following the census. District 1 will still represent the cities of Brandon, Evansville, Garfield, Kensington, Millerville and the townships of Brandon, Evansville, Holmes City, Ida, Leaf Valley, Lund, Millerville, Moe, Solem and Urness. District 1 will not be on the ballot this fall. 
    Keith Englund
  • Commissioner District 2 (Tim Kalina) will lose former Alexandria City Ward 1-Precinct 1, Ward 5-Precinct 1, Forada City and Hudson Township. This district will gain all of redistricted Ward 5 of the city of Alexandria. The new total population of Commissioner District 2 will be 8,182. District 2 will now represent Alexandria Ward 5 and the townships of LaGrand and Lake Mary. This district will be up for reelection this fall.  
    Tim Kalina
  • Commissioner District 3 (Jerry Rapp) will experience a population shift of 182 people out of the district, which is from the city of Nelson. The new total population of District 3 will be 7,536. District 3 still represents the cities of Carlos, Miltona and Osakis and the townships of Belle River, Carlos, Miltona, Orange, Osakis and Spruce Hill. District 3 will not be on the ballot this fall. 
    Jerry Rapp
  • Commissioner District 4 (Charlie Meyer) will lose former Alexandria City Ward 1-Precinct 2 and gain the cities of Nelson and Forada, and Hudson Township. The new total population of Commissioner District 4 will be 7,271. District 4 will now represent Alexandria City Ward 2, cities of Forada and Nelson and townships of Alexandria and Hudson. District 4 is up for reelection this fall. 
    Charlie Meyer
    Charlie Meyer
  • Commissioner District 5 (Heather Larson) will lose former Alexandria City Ward 5-Precinct 2 and will gain all of the redistricted Ward 1 for the city of Alexandria. The new total population of Commissioner District 5 will be 8,571. District 5 will now represent Wards 1, 3 and 4 in the city of Alexandria. District 5 is up for reelection this fall. 
    Heather Larson

There were no public comments made during Tuesday’s public hearing on the county’s redistricting plan.

Celeste Edenloff is the special projects editor and a reporter for the Alexandria Echo Press. She has lived in the Alexandria Lakes Area since 1997. She first worked for the Echo Press as a reporter from 1999 to 2011, and returned in 2016 to once again report on the community she calls home.
What To Read Next
The City of Alexandria will hold a Park/Trails Master Plan Open House on Thursday, Feb. 9 from 5:30 to 7 p.m. at Alexandria City Hall.
Katie Perry and Angie Urman, have taken on new positions within the organization’s senior leadership team.
Several awards were presented at its annual celebration: Friend of the Chamber, President's Award, Top 5 Under 40 Young Professionals and more.