Weather Forecast


Ingebrigtsen to chair environment committee

Ingebrigtsen1 / 3
Torrey Westrom2 / 3
Paul Anderson3 / 3

State Sen. Bill Ingebrigtsen, R-Alexandria, will chair the Environment and Natural Resources Finance Committee again in 2019 and 2020.

Minnesota Senate Republicans announced the selection Wednesday.

Ingebrigtsen served as chairman of the committee during the 2017-2018 session. He changed language in Minnesota's buffer law, helped reform the state's regulatory process and supported environmental protections.

"Over the past two years I have been fortunate to chair the Senate's Environment and Natural Resources Finance Committee, facilitating bipartisan environment and natural resources reforms that preserve Minnesota's great outdoors and reducing burdensome regulations that cause harm across our state," said Ingebrigtsen.

He added that he's excited to get back to work in the committee to tackle important issues, including Chronic Wasting Disease, permit delays, the continued prevalence of harmful regulations, and working with anglers, the DNR, and private hatcheries to increase the stocking of fish in lakes across Minnesota while decreasing taxpayer costs.

Senate Republicans also announced a full slate of committee chairs for the upcoming biennium including a newly-formed committee — Family Care and Aging Committee.

The work of the current Aging and Long-Term Care Policy Committee will continue under the new committee, with Sen. Karin Housley, R-St. Mary's Point, leading as chairman.

"As I spent the summer and fall traveling the state, I routinely heard from moms and dads about the daily struggle juggling expensive and limited child care options, mental health concerns, caring for aging parents, and balancing demanding careers to provide the best life for their families," said Housley. "Some are struggling to make ends meet, but many dual-income households that are doing well financially still have concerns about work/life balance and their ability to save enough to send their kids to college."

In addition to Ingebrigtsen, two other legislators who represent parts of Douglas County will chair committees in the next session: Sen. Torrey Westrom, R-Elbow Lake, Agriculture, Rural Development and Housing Finance; and Rep. Paul Anderson, R-Starbuck, Higher Education Finance and Policy.

Al Edenloff

Al Edenloff is the news and opinion page editor for the Echo Press. He was born in Alexandria and lived most of his childhood in Parkers Prairie. He graduated with honors from Moorhead State University with a degree in mass communications, print journalism. He interned at the Echo Press in the summer of 1983 and was hired a year later as a sports reporter. He also worked as a news reporter/photographer. Al is a four-time winner of the Minnesota Newspaper Association's Herman Roe Award, which honors excellence in editorial writing.  

(320) 763-1236