Four candidates file for Alexandria mayor; other races develop as filing period closes


With the filing period for local and state positions closing on Tuesday, June 2, voters now have a clearer idea of who will be in the running for the upcoming primary and general election.

A hotly contested mayor race in Alexandria is among the highlights.

Four candidates filed for the office after incumbent Sara Carlson, who was elected in 2012, announced she wouldn’t be seeking another term.

The candidates include two current council members – Todd Jensen in Ward 5 and Bobbie Osterberg in Ward 3 – and two challengers, Aaron Schultz and Shannon Berns.


Todd Jensen

Bobbie Osterberg

Shannon Berns

Aaron Schultz

All four names will appear on the ballot for the Tuesday, Aug. 11 primary and the two top vote-getters will move on to the general election on Tuesday, Nov. 3.


Two candidates filed for Jensen’s Ward 5 spot, Andrew Wiener and Charles Funk, while Osterberg’s Ward 3 position drew just one candidate, Scott Allen. No primary is needed for those positions.

There is also a contested race for Alexandria School Board. Judd Hoff is challenging incumbent David Anderson. Only the incumbents filed for the other two other school board seats up for election – Pamela Carlson and Angie Krebs.

No one filed to run against the two incumbents up for election for Douglas County commissioner, which means Keith Englund in District 1 and Jerry Rapp in District 3 will be unopposed on the ballot this November.

The filing period for offices in cities and school districts that hold primaries took place from May 19 through June 2. Filings for other municipal and school district offices are from Tuesday, July 28 through Tuesday, August 11.

Looking at local state legislative races, Sens. Bill Ingebrigtsen, R-Alexandria, and Torrey Westrom, R-Elbow Lake, will face DFL challengers this fall. Michele Anderson of Fergus Falls filed for Senate District 8 against Ingebrigtsen and Jill Abahsain of Sauk Centre is running against Westrom in District 12.

In the House, Carol Wenner, a DFLer from Alexandria, filed for District 8B, as did the incumbent, Mary Franson, R-Alexandria.

Rep. Jeff Backer, R-Browns Valley, in District 12A will once again square off against his former teacher, Murray Smart, DFL-Beardsley.

The District 12B race is also a replay from the 2018 election with DFL challenger Ben Schirmers of Sauk Centre taking on incumbent Paul Anderson, R-Starbuck.


Al Edenloff is the editor of the twice-weekly Echo Press. He started his journalism career when he was in 10th grade, writing football and basketball stories for the Parkers Prairie Independent.
What To Read Next
Get Local