Five area school districts will be holding special elections this fall.

Alexandria, Osakis and Parkers Prairie school districts will each be having elections to fill a vacant seat on the school board, while Brandon-Evansville and West Central Area school districts will be voting on bond issues.

Alexandria School District

Two candidates – Jeff Patience and Maureen Eigen – are on the ballot for a special one-year term for the Alexandria School Board.

The special election will take place Tuesday, Nov. 2, with early voting having begun Friday, Sept. 17.

Newsletter signup for email alerts

There are several different options for voting:

Vote early in person

Through Monday, Nov. 1, you can vote early in person at the Woodland Elementary Building/District Office located at 1410 S. McKay Ave. during regular office hours of Monday-Thursday, 7:30 a.m.-4:30 p.m., Friday, 7:30 a.m.-4 p.m.

Vote early by mail

Request an absentee ballot by calling 320-762-2141 ext. 4213 or download an application at Once you have completed the application, return it to the address noted on the back. Once the application is received, an absentee ballot will be mailed to you with instructions. Mail your ballot back in the pre-paid, pre-addressed envelope that was provided with your ballot materials. Ballots must be received by Nov. 2.

For further information about voting by absentee ballot, including procedures and qualifications, call the District Office at 320-762-2141 ext. 4213 or email Maggie Timm, election clerk, at

Vote on election day

The special election is Tuesday, Nov. 2. Polls will be open from 7 a.m. to 8 p.m. Your polling location may be different than the last time you voted. Visit or call 320-762-2141 ext. 4213 if you have questions about where to vote.

The list of polling locations for this election:

Precinct No. 1: City of Alexandria, Ward 1, Precincts 1 and 2

Voting location: Lake Community Church, 490 Voyager Drive, Alexandria

Precinct No. 2: City of Alexandria, Ward 2

Voting location: Reach Church (formerly known as Living Waters Church), 1310 North Nokomis, Alexandria

Precinct No. 3: City of Alexandria, Ward 3

Voting location: New Life Christian Church, 1910 County Road 82 SE, Alexandria

Precinct No. 4: City of Alexandria, Ward 4

New voting location: The Church of St. Mary, 420 Irving St, Alexandria

Precinct No. 5: City of Alexandria, Ward 5, Precincts 1 and 2

Voting location: Alexandria City Hall, 704 Broadway, Alexandria

Precinct No. 6: LaGrand Township

Voting location: LaGrand Town Hall, 501 Town Hall Rd NW, Alexandria

Precinct No. 7: City of Garfield, Brandon Township, Ida Township, Leaf Valley Township, and Moe Township

Voting location: Ida Town Hall, 4700 County Road 6 NW, Garfield

Precinct No. 8: City of Miltona, Miltona Township, and Spruce Hill Township

Voting location: Miltona Community Center, 5590 County Road 14 NE, Miltona

Precinct No. 9: City of Carlos, Belle River Township, and Carlos Township

Voting location: Carlos Town Hall, 210 Victoria Ave, Carlos

Precinct No. 10: City of Nelson, Alexandria Township, and Osakis Township

Voting location: Good Shepherd Lutheran Church, 2702 Highway 29 N, Alexandria

Precinct No. 11: City of Forada and Hudson Township

Voting location: Forada City Fire Hall, 10991 Tobys Ave SE, Alexandria

Precinct No. 12: Holmes City Township, Lake Mary Township, and Reno Township (Pope County)

Voting location: Lake Mary Town Hall, 4791 County Rd 4 SW, Alexandria

Brandon-Evansville School District

At Brandon-Evansville, voters will decide whether to approve a referendum to provide funding for a building project for the district after the school board approved a resolution to issue general obligation school building bonds and calling for the special election in July.

According to the resolution, the amount of money would not exceed $14.5 million and would go toward "the betterment of school sites and facilities."

The plan for the Evansville school includes the addition of more classrooms, a parent drop-off area and new parking lots.

In Brandon, the plan includes a new gym, career and technical shop and community fitness room additions, as well as new parking lots and a storage shed.

A "yes" vote on the ballot question would result in a property tax increase.

A previous $25.2 million referendum failed in November 2019.

West Central Area School District

The West Central Area School District passed a resolution for referendum in August.

There are three referendum questions, all of which are independent of each other, and none of which are contingent upon the passage of another question.

The first question would provide general obligation school building bonds in an aggregate amount not to exceed $37,030,000 for acquisition and betterment of school sites and facilities.

This would include construction of a new South Elementary School in Hoffman, and construction and renovation at North Elementary School in Elbow Lake.

The second question would provide school building bonds in an aggregate amount not to exceed $4,870,000 for classroom expansion.

This would include expanding classroom spaces and labs, adding equipment and furniture to support STEAM (science, technology, engineering, arts, math), career and technical education and other general updates to the facility and grounds.

The third question would provide bonds in an aggregate amount not to exceed $5,495,000 for acquisition and betterment of school sites and facilities.

This would include the construction and equipping of a track and field complex and construction of a softball and baseball field complex.

Osakis School District

There are three candidates vying for one seat on the Osakis School Board. They are Corey Goodwin, Jonathan Ries and Ashley Shrode.

Parkers Prairie School District

There is one candidate for the Parkers Prairie School Board. It is Dustin Schilling.