Three Alexandria high school graduates will be inducted into the district's Alumni Hall of Fame on Friday, Sept. 24. They are:

  • DeWayne Bisek, Class of 1957, law enforcement and retired ATCC instructor. Bisek worked as a correction officer at Stillwater State Prison, and for the Alexandria Police Department and Douglas County Sheriff’s Office. He also worked for 31 years as an instructor at Alexandria Technical and Community College, where he was named ATCC Teacher of the Year in 2002.
  • Mari Leuthner, Class of 1971, television station manager and Realtor. She worked for Central Minnesota Television Company (KCMT) from 1979-1987, for WCCO/KCCO television from 1987-2004 and for KSAX Television in Alexandria from 2005-2012, when the station closed. She then became a real estate agent.
  • Dr. Daniel Suchy, Class of 1961, pulmonologist. Suchy was the co-valedictorian for his graduating class. He served as a naval flight surgeon and a U.S. Coast Guard lieutenant commander He also helped start a bank in Fresno, California.

The Alumni Hall of Fame was created in 2007 as a means to honor graduates, or any staff or faculty member who has earned distinction or achievement in their professional field.

The Hall of Fame recipients will be inducted at the recognition luncheon at noon on Friday, Sept. 24, and they will be invited to be grand marshals during the Homecoming Community Parade as part of homecoming festivities that afternoon.

“This is an amazing and well-deserving group of honorees. We look forward to celebrating their accomplishments and formally inducting them into the Alexandria Education Foundation Hall of Fame,” said Christine Reilly, executive director of the Alexandria Education Foundation.

Newsletter signup for email alerts

Past inductees include artist Ellen Eilers, golfer Tom Lehman, and peace advocate Ruth Salzman Adams.

Luncheon tickets cost $30 and are available for purchase by calling 320-815-5052.