Douglas County voters will help decide 3 primary races

Alexandria School Board election draws 10 candidates

2022 Election campaign button
2022 Election campaign button.
Felipe Sanchez -

DOUGLAS COUNTY — Let the races begin!
With the filing period now closed, the Aug. 9 primary election picture is clearer for Douglas County voters.
There will be two primary elections for Alexandria School Board because four candidates filed for position 3 and three candidates filed for position 4.
The candidates for position 3 are Lynne Lommen, Joel Novak, Greg Odell and Shawn Reilly. The long-time incumbent, Dr. Dean Anderson, decided not to file for re-election for position 3.
Candidates for position 4 are incumbent Sandy Susag and challengers Dennis Conn and Laura Knudsen.
The two candidates who receive the most votes in each of those positions in the primary will appear on the ballot for the general election on Nov. 8.
There is also a race for position 2 on the school board. Incumbent Alan Zeithamer filed for re-election, along with Vern Engstrom.
One other school board spot is up for election, position 5, but only one candidate filed — Maureen Eigen, who won a special election last November to fill out a one-year term.
A primary election will also take place in Senate District 9, which includes part of Douglas County. Two Republicans filed — Jordan Rasmusson of Fergus Falls, who received the party's endorsement, and Nathan Miller of Battle Lake. The winner of the primary will appear on the ballot against DFL-endorsed Cornel Walker of Fergus Falls.
A few other local and state elections will add some spice to the general election:

  • Alexandria City Council, Ward 4. Nicole Mace, who lives on Irving Street, and Ronald Sik, who lives on 5th Ave. East, filed. Both are newcomers because the ward's long-time council member, Dave Benson, decided not to file. Two other incumbents filed for council and are running unopposed — Bill Franzen in Ward 1 and Roger Thalman in Ward 2.
  • Douglas County Board. District 2 incumbent Tim Kalina will face a former commissioner, James Stratton, in the general election. Also, District 5 incumbent Heather Larson filed, along with a challenger, Shane Schmidt. Charlie Meyer, the incumbent in District 4, filed and faces no challengers. Other county elected officials are running unopposed — Auditor/Treasurer Vicki Doehling, Recorder Mary Skillings, Sheriff Troy Wolbersen and County Attorney Chad Larson.
  • Senate District 12. Because of redistricting , the Republican incumbent, Torrey Westrom, moved from his previous address in Elbow Lake and established residency on West Lake Mary Drive in Alexandria. He is being challenged by the DFL-endorsed candidate, Kari Dorry of Ortonville, and an independent candidate, Ashley Klingbeil of Alexandria, who listed her party as "We the People."
  • House District 12B. Incumbent Mary Franson, R-Alexandria, filed, along with challenger Jeremy Vinar of Alexandria, who was endorsed by the DFL party.
  • House District 9B. Republican Tom Murphy of Underwood will face DFLer Jason Satter of Pelican Rapids.

This list is still “unofficial” until the candidate withdrawal period expires at 5 p.m. on Thursday, June 2.
There are also other races that will be on the primary ballot — U.S. Representative District 7, governor and lieutenant governor, secretary of state and attorney general.

The four major political parties in Minnesota are Republican, DFL, Grassroots-Legalize Cannabis and Legal Marijuana Now

For more information about the candidates, go to the Minnesota Secretary of State website,

Also, check out the Echo Press online voter's guide (some parts are still under construction) at

Al Edenloff is the editor of the twice-weekly Echo Press. He started his journalism career when he was in 10th grade, writing football and basketball stories for the Parkers Prairie Independent.
What To Read Next
Get Local