Weather Forecast


A look at township election results

The votes are in — as few of them as there were — and township boards in Douglas County are ready to go for the upcoming year.

Here's a look at the results of the March 12 township elections:

Alexandria — Rodney Eldevik and Joel Dahlheimer were both re-elected to three-year terms for supervisor and Dennis Butz was elected to a one-year supervisor position that was previously held by Linda Dokken-McFann. Total voters: 24.

Belle River — Jerry Nelson is the newly-elected supervisor, edging Bob Larson, 9-8, in write-in votes after no one filed.

Evansville — Randy Jacobson was re-elected as supervisor. Total voters: 9.

Holmes City — Gary Schuneman was re-elected with 22 votes, with six write-in votes for Troy Drewes. Total voters: 28.

Hudson — Dan New, supervisor, and Cindy VanLuik, treasurer, were re-elected. Total voters: 29.

Ida — Daniel Diedrich remains in his supervisor position. Total voters: 26.

LaGrand — Diane Erickson is the newly-elected supervisor. She filed for the position previously held by Richard Bromley. Total voters: 22.

Lake Mary — Donna Hoeper was re-elected for supervisor and Christy Tvrdik, previously appointed to fill a vacancy, was elected to the treasurer position. Total voters: 32.

Leaf Valley — Dale Diedrich, supervisor, and Barb Guenther, treasurer, were re-elected. Total voters: 31.

Lund — Shane Henrichs, supervisor, and Tracy Zickur, treasurer, were re-elected. Nobody filed for clerk, but Kim Englund won with a write-in campaign. At the annual meeting, it was decided by a vote of 42-11 to build a new township shop for storing equipment. Total voters: 56.

Millerville — Treasurer Nancy Reitmeier and supervisor Kenneth Kuhn were re-elected. Total voters: 36.

Moe — Jerome Kostreba was re-elected for supervisor and Florence Chlian was re-elected for treasurer. Total voters: 18.

Orange — Ken Marthaler was re-elected as supervisor and Estelle Garvin won the treasurer position with write-in votes, beating out Newton Earl. Total voters: 11.

Osakis — Gene Rasmusen will remain in the supervisor role. Total voters: 10.

Solem — Supervisor Bruce Wohlforth and treasurer Kevin Holl were re-elected. Mark Fernholz was elected as supervisor to fill a vacancy. Total voters: 12.

Spruce Hill — Supervisor Brad Lusty and treasurer Jesse Lusty were re-elected. Total voters: 15.

Urness — Incumbent supervisor Brent Johnson was elected to a three-year term and Gerald Johnson was elected to a two-year term. Total voters: 9.

Celeste Edenloff

Celeste is a reporter for the Alexandria Echo Press and has lived in the Alexandria Lakes Area since 1997. She first worked for the Echo Press as a reporter from 1999 to 2011, and returned in June 2016 to report on the community she calls home. Besides writing articles for the Echo Press, she has a blog, “Newspaper Girl on the Run.” Celeste is on a continuous healthy living journey and loves to teach bootcamp fitness classes and run. She has participated in more than 200 races with her husband, Al, covering the 5K, 10K, 10-mile and half-marathon (13.1 mile) distances.

(320) 763-1242