Weather Forecast


Three area athletic trainers vie for national award

Scott Scholl1 / 3
Beth Swanson2 / 3
Chris Siegel3 / 3

Three athletic trainers have a chance to become the regional nominee for the 2018-2019 Newell National Athletic Trainer of the Year Award.

They are Scott Scholl of Alexandria Area High School; Chris Siegel, of Minnewaska Area High School and Hancock Public School; and Beth Swanson, of Sauk Centre and Osakis public schools.

The athletic trainer selected as the regional nominee will advance on to join other regional nominees from across the nation to be considered for the national award later this spring.

In partnership with local orthopedic practices, such as Heartland Orthopedic Specialists in Alexandria, Willmar, Morris, Appleton, Graceville, Wadena and Fergus Falls, the Newell National Athletic Trainer of the Year Award recognizes athletic trainers for the service and leadership they provide to local athletic communities.

Nominations for the National Award are based on examples of service, leadership and shared experiences from community members.

Scholl serves as an athletic trainer for Alexandria Area High School in Alexandria. He received his Bachelor of Arts degree in physical education from Augsburg University in Minneapolis. Following graduation, Scholl served as an athletic trainer for six years at Northfield Hospital, two years at Minneapolis Club, five years at Hutchinson Health and the past eight years at Heartland Orthopedic Specialists in Alexandria.

Scholl also served as an athletic trainer and strength and conditioning coach at St. Olaf College in Northfield. He has worked with athletes at Alexandria Area High School for the last three years, where he offers injury evaluation and rehabilitation care. He also makes injury prevention a top priority and is continuously visiting and educating coaches on the best methods currently available to prevent injuries.

Siegel, an outreach athletic trainer for Minnewaska Area High School and Hancock Public School, graduated from Minnesota State University in Moorhead with Bachelor of Science degrees in athletic training and exercise science. He continued his education at North Dakota State University in Fargo, North Dakota, earning a master's degree in exercise science.

In addition to serving athletes as a trainer, Siegel is the treasurer for the Minnesota Athletic Trainers' Association as well as the development director for the organization. He also serves on the Secondary Schools Committee and Golf Committee.

Swanson has been an athletic trainer for more than 10 years and received her undergraduate degree in athletic training from Minnesota State University in Moorhead and her master's degree in athletic training from the University of Virginia in Charlottesville, Virginia.

In her current position, Swanson takes on a variety of clinical roles in working with Osakis and Sauk Centre public schools and their athletes to help them return to play following an injury. She has also been active in legislative efforts, served on various committees and presented at conferences at the state, district and national levels.

"We feel very fortunate to work with such incredible medical professionals," says Dr. Eric Nelson, board-certified sports medicine surgeon at Heartland Orthopedic Specialists. "And we feel honored to acknowledge their efforts by partnering with The Newell Award to recognize the region's — and potentially, the nation's — top athletic trainers for the service and leadership they display while treating our community's athletes."

To learn more, visit

Al Edenloff

Al Edenloff is the news and opinion page editor for the Echo Press. He was born in Alexandria and lived most of his childhood in Parkers Prairie. He graduated with honors from Moorhead State University with a degree in mass communications, print journalism. He interned at the Echo Press in the summer of 1983 and was hired a year later as a sports reporter. He also worked as a news reporter/photographer. Al is a four-time winner of the Minnesota Newspaper Association's Herman Roe Award, which honors excellence in editorial writing.  

(320) 763-1236