Minnesota's 2011 Legislative Session officially began January 4 with Torrey Westrom, R-Elbow Lake, and 133 other state representatives being sworn into office during a ceremony at the state Capitol.

"It is an honor to be elected again by the people of District 11A," Westrom said. "We have a lot to accomplish in the Legislature during this session, and I am eager to get to work."

Newsletter signup for email alerts

Most of Westrom's work during the first months of session will take place in House committees.

Westrom said he was pleased with his committee assignments, as he will serve as the chair of the Civil Law Committee and will also be a member of the Rules and Legislative Administration Committee and the Ways and Means Committee.

Westrom was also named speaker pro tempore by the newly elected Speaker of the House Kurt Zellers, R-Maple Grove

The speaker of the House customarily appoints three to five speaker pro tems to assist in presiding over the Minnesota House when the speaker is unavailable.

"It is an honor to be named speaker pro tem," Westrom said. "I look forward to serving the House of Representatives in this capacity."

Representatives Morrie Lanning, R-Moorhead, Greg Davids, R-Preston, and Mary Liz Holberg, R-Lakeville, were the other legislators to receive this appointment with Westrom.

Westrom can be reached by phone at (651) 296-4929 or 1-800-711-2620. He can also be contacted via e-mail at rep.torrey.westrom@house.mn, or via U.S. mail at 443 State Office Building, St. Paul, MN 55155.