Ask a Trooper: What rules cover 15-year-olds driving on a farm permit?
State Trooper Jesse Grabow answers your road safety questions.
Question: I have a child who will be turning 15 years old pretty soon. We farm for a living. What are some of the rules and requirements for a farm permit to drive?
Answer: For those who qualify, there is a restricted farm license. A person who meets the requirements of this restricted license may operate a motor vehicle only during daylight hours and only within a radius of 40 miles of the parent's or guardian's farmhouse. There are no exceptions for driving to or from school or any other non-farm use.
Traffic crashes are a leading cause of death in Minnesota teens. Due to inexperience, distractions and risk-taking, teen drivers increasingly jeopardize their lives on the road compared with other drivers. In 2020, teens age 15-19 made up just 6% of all licensed drivers. Yet, they made up 16% of all drivers involved in traffic crashes.
Teens also have the lowest seat belt use rate of all age groups. In 2020, only 54% of killed motor vehicle occupant teens ages 13-19 were known to be buckled up.
Parents, please be sure your child is ready to drive and help them gain experience before sending them alone.
Send questions concerning traffic-related laws or issues in Minnesota to: Trp. Jesse Grabow – Minnesota State Patrol , 1000 Highway 10 W., Detroit Lakes, MN 56501-2205. Follow him on Twitter @MSPPIO_NW or reach him at email@example.com.