A-B-E runners honored after season of improvement

Ashby-Brandon-Evansville cross country rewards athletes who helped the program take a big step forward this fall season.

ABE CrossCountry TeamAwards.jpg
The Ashby-Brandon-Evansville cross country team award winners are (back, left to right) Jaden Norby, Extra Mile, Teammate Award; Matson Hoff, Most Improved; Hunter Norby, Newcomer Award; (front) Lucea Wales, Extra Mile, Newcomer Award; and Hannah Korkowski, Most Improved. Not pictured is Cailey Schlosser, Teammate Award. (Contributed photo)

The Ashby-Brandon-Evansville cross country program saw a lot of improvement this fall in now the fourth season in its history.

That stemmed from having a lot more athletes out for the sport this year, and many of those were honored with season-ending awards.

The team awards were voted on by the athletes, and Lucea Wales for the girls and Jaden Norby for the boys earned the Extra Mile Award as athletes who outwork everyone on a consistent basis. Jaden Norby also took home the Teammate Award for the boys as the guy who cheers on and helps out others on the team. Cailey Schlosser earned that honor for the girls.

Lucea Wales and Hunter Norby earned the Newcomer Award as athletes who made their teams better right away this season. Hunter Norby paced all A-B-E runners at the conference meet this year by taking fifth to earn all-conference honors in his first year in the sport.

Hannah Korkowski and Matson Hoff rounded out the team award winners for A-B-E by earning the Most Improved Award.


The improvement for A-B-E this fall included having six runners for the boys’ team take home league honors at the conference meet. Micah Fossell (10th), Wes Siira (12th) and Hoff (15th) joined Hunter Norby in being all-conference runners with their finishes, while Jayden Hoidahl (17th) and Logan Froemming (18th) were honorable-mention runners.

Schlosser, Jaden Norby and Miles Hoff also earned recognition from the classroom where they were conference academic award winners as seniors with GPAs of 3.5 of higher.


GIRLS LETTER WINNERS - Hannah Korkowski, Courtney Brethorst, Lucea Wales, Gretchen Bredberg, Emma Erickson, Kaytlyn Pattrin, Cailey Schlosser

BOYS LETTER WINNERS - Micah Fossell, Lucas Fuller, Solomon Wales, Logan Froemming, Kian Gackle, Jacob Cook, Titus Fuller, Matson Hoff, Jayden Hoidahl, Hunter Norby, Wes Siira, Jaden Norby

Eric Morken is a sports and outdoor editor at the Echo Press Newspaper in Alexandria, Minnesota, a property of the Forum News Service. Morken covers a variety of stories throughout the Douglas County area, as well as statewide outdoor issues.
What To Read Next
Get Local