Weather Forecast


Horan named Alex swimmers' MVP

Alexandria's McKenna Horan gets the Cardinals' 200-yard medley relay started in the backstroke during the Class A state swimming prelims at the University of Minnesota Aquatic Center. Horan took home MVP honors for the Cardinals this season as just a freshman. (Joe Brown / Forum News Service)1 / 7
Kenna Horan2 / 7
Morghan Shell3 / 7
Jadeya Peterson4 / 7
Halle Pease5 / 7
Kaylee Weigel6 / 7
Sidney Johnson7 / 7

The Alexandria girls swimming and diving team had an awards ceremony to wrap up its 2017 season as McKenna Horan was named the most valuable swimmer for this group.

Horan, a freshman, has many good years ahead of her in the pool for Alexandria as she was part of the 200-medley relay team that finished 24th at the state meet this year. Joining her in that group was fellow freshman Ashtyn Molesworth and juniors Jadeya Peterson and Addison Rodel.

Peterson received the Hardest Worker award for the Cardinals. Morghan Shell was named Most Improved, and Kaylee Weigel was given the Best Teammate recognition. The Rookies of the Year were Halle Pease and Sidney Johnson.

Central Lakes Conference honorable-mention performances went to Horan, Molesworth, Rodel, and Peterson in the 200 yard medley relay, Hattie Galloway in the 200 yard IM and Horan in the 500 yard freestyle.

Twenty-eight athletes were letterwinners this year and the varsity team achieved a gold level scholastic award, meaning their cumulative GPA was over 3.75.

Christina Palmer, Peterson, Lauren Russell and McKenzie Weigel each earned individual Gold Awards for achieving a 4.0 GPA.

Joslyn Kent, K. Weigel, Brianna Murray, Staci Nohl, Savannah Overland, Megan Schultz, Rodel, Reece Stallman, Kaitlyn Meece, Erin O'Kane, Chloe Schneider, Jewel Sainz, Brienna Timm, Carley Ford, Abby Bartosiewski, Cassie Corson, Kaylee Meyer and Kennedy Quinn all earned a gold academic award with a GPA of 3.6 or higher.

Hailey Koep and Becca Brown achieved a silver academic award with a GPAs between 3.0 and 3.59.

Joslyn Kent, Megan Schultz, Kaitlyn Meece, Chloe Schneider, Bartosiewski, Corson, and Hailey Koep were awarded the Central Lakes Conference Scholar Athlete Award for maintaining about a 3.4 cumulative GPA.

Alexandria Swim and dive letterwinners: Abby Bartosiewski, Addison Rodel, Aleah Dokter, Allea Balcome, Anna Dokter, Ashtyn Molesworth, Becca Brown, Brienna Timm, Carley Ford, Cassie Corson, Chloe Schneider, Christina Palmer, Grace Karrow, Hailey Koep, Halle Pease, Hattie Galloway, Jadeya Peterson, Jewel Sainz, Joslyn Kent, Kaitlyn Meece, Lauren Russell, McKenna Horan, McKenzie Weigel, Megan Schultz, Morgan Hungness, Savannah Overland, Sidney Johnson, Staci Nohl