Weather Forecast


Murder charges reinstated in 2013 stabbing

Silverstreaks win two in Eden-Valley-Watkins

The Osakis wrestling team picked up two team wins during a quadrangular meet hosted by Eden Valley-Watkins on Friday, December 20.

The Silverstreaks wrestled their way to victories over Eden Valley-Watkins and Belgrade-Brooten-Elrosa and lost a match to Atwater-Cosmos-Grove City, a team that most years is among the best teams in the state and currently is ranked fourth in the Class A rankings.

0 Talk about it

The Silverstreaks were led by Brendon Coyer, who picked up three wins in the quad meet. Head coach Joey Andreasen has come to expect that from the most consistent wrestler in the lineup this season.

“He just keeps going about his business,” Andreasen said about Coyer. “There aren’t too many matches where we’re not sure if he is going to win or not.”

Not only has he provided consistent victories in the lineup for Osakis this year, but Coyer often picks up bonus points in those matches.

“He’s a pinner for us, so he always adds bonus points for the team,” Andreasen said.

Another highlight for Andreasen on Friday was a come-from-behind victory for Nils Hagen against Eden Valley-Watkins’ Cain Renner. Renner came into the match as a state-ranked wrestler and had an early 5-0 lead on Hagen. But Renner was unable to keep that lead, and Hagen wrestled his way back to win the match 17-10.

“That was kind of the highlight of the evening, I would say,” Andreasen said.



106 – Seth Johnson (OSK) Dec. Aaron Lang, 12-8; 113 – Rylan Molinaro (ACGC) Tech. Fall Devin Johnson, 4:25; 120 – Shane Whitcomb (ACGC) Pin Darrin Stoetzel, 1:45; 126 – Brendon Coyer (OSK) Tech. Fall Jacob Whitcomb, 2:35; 132 – Tyler Berghuis (ACGC) Pin Garret Sunder, 2:23; 138 – Ryan Engfer (OSK) Maj. Dec. Jeremy Nelson, 9-0; 145 – Larry Bomstad (ACGC) Pin Colton Waldvogel, 1:29; 152 – Derek Dengerud (ACGC) Pin Conner Wiener; 160 – Logan Peterson (ACGC) Pin Lucas Towle, :20; 170 – Jordan Nelson (ACGC) Dec. Adam Kleinfehn, 6-2; 182 – Cody Berghuis (ACGC) Pin Austin Sunder, 2:56; 195 – Maverick Whitcomb (ACGC) Fall Nils Hagen, 3:30; 220 – Jordan Fester (ACTC) Fall Mitch Sunder, 4:27; 285 – Lucas Damm (ACGC) Dec. Peter Hagen, 5-2


106 – Seth Johnson (OSK) Won by Forfeit; 113 – Devin Johnson Won by Forfeit; 120 – Matt Schindler (EVW) Maj. Dec. Stoetzel, 15-7; 126 – Brendon Coyer (OSK) Pin Tyler Donnay, :47; 132 – Garret Sunder (OSK) Dec. Hunter Mathies, 8-4; 138 –Engfer (OSK) Tech. Fall Tyler Dockendorf, 4:37; 145 –Waldvogel (OSK) Fall John Unterberger, 4:39; 152 – John Salzl (EVW) Pin Wiener, :28; 160 – Grant Winter (EVW) Pin Lucas Towle, :45; 170 – Luke Kuechle (EVW) Tech. Fall Adam Kleinfehn, 5:32; 182 – Austin Sunder (OSK) Won by Forfeit; 195 – Nils Hagen (OSK) Dec. Cain Renner, 17-10; 220 – Mitch Sunder (OSK) Default Lyle Miller; 285 – Peter Hagen (OSK) Won by Forfeit


Blaze Fugina

Blaze Fugina is the sports editor of the Woodbury and South Washington County Bulletin newspapers. Previously, Blaze worked as a sports editor for the Pierce County Herald and a sports reporter for the Alexandria Echo Press. He graduated from the University of Wisconsin-River Falls in May of 2011. You can follow Blaze on Twitter at @BlazeFugina.

(651) 319-4280