Weather Forecast


Minnewaska boys expect competitive track season

The Minnewaska boys’ track and field team is hoping to have a balanced team this season with 16 letter winners returning from 2013.

The varsity team will be led by senior captains Ethan Anderson, Jack Schultenover and Josh Bartels. The Lakers hope they have enough participants to be competitive in every event this season.

“Our goal is to be a balanced track and field team, competing in all events at all of our meets,” head coach Steve Hill said. “Many of our athletes will have to compete in more than one area of events in order for that to happen, but we are confident we can do it.”

The sprinting squad will be led by Schultenover and Bartels, who both are returning letter winners. Sophomores Greg Helander, Howard McNeil, Marcello Arredondo and Tyler Lybeck also round out the varsity sprinting group. Freshman Dennis VanDyke, Royce Hoeper, Will Foner and Dylan Holmes will have the opportunity to contribute this season.

Throwers for the Lakers in discus and shot put will be young this season. Sophomores Nelson Lundebrek, Jeff Helander, Tony Hill and Dawson Pobuda will lead the group, while junior newcomer Thorin Erickson and freshmen Jordan Koubsky and Justin Lundblad will round out the squad.

Distance and middle distance runners who are returning this season include returning letter winners Anderson, junior Jacob LaFave and sophomore Garret Bartels. Newcomers will include sophomore Ryan Majerus and eighth grader Nolan Wiesel.

The Lakers will have a young jumping squad with juniors Ryan Moen, Scott Johnson and sophomore Sean Stelter preparing to compete as pole vaulters. McNeil, Arredondo and freshman Hunter Dougherty will fill spots at long jump and triple jump. Junior Dalton Feeken is returning as a high jumper.

Hill expects Montevideo and Morris to be favorites to finish on top of the West Central Conference, and Morris and Staples are teams to look out for in Section 6A.


SENIORS – Ethan Anderson, Jack Schultenover, Josh Bartels

JUNIORS – Jacob LaFave, Ryan Moen, Dalton Feeken, Scott Johnson, Thorin Erickson

SOPHOMORES – Greg Helander, Nelson Lundebrek, Ryan Majerus, Brad Jacobs, Marcello Arredondo, Garret Bartels, Howard McNeil, Dawson Pobuda, Jeff Helander, Sean Stelter, Tyler Lybek, Tony Hill

FRESHMEN – Dylan Holmes, Jordan Koubsky, Royce Hoeper, Dennis VanDyke, Justin Lundblad, Will Foner, Andrew Rosenberg, Hunter Dougherty, Nick Searcy

EIGHTH GRADE – Jackson Johnsrud, Connor Westberg, Nolan Weisel

COACHES – Head coaches Steve Hill and Gordy Moeller; assistant coaches Jennifer Johnsrud (distance), Susan VanDyke (junior high)