Weather Forecast


Murder charges reinstated in 2013 stabbing

Bosek named POY in Pheasant

Brandon-Evansville’s Tom Bosek was one of four Chargers baseball players who were named to the All-Pheasant Conference team as he earned the Pitcher of the Year honor in the league.

Bosek, a junior righthander, got the ball in Brandon-Evansville’s final game of the season that turned into a pitcher’s duel with Nevis’ Austin Becker. Bosek took a tough-luck loss that day in a 3-2 game despite fanning seven and allowing just five hits in six innings pitched. He battled through injuries this season to give the Chargers a chance every time he took the mound.

Joining Bosek on the all-conference team from the Chargers were James Huisman, Christian McGaffey and Brandon Christianson. All four of the Brandon-Evansville representatives on the team were juniors this past season.

Fellow juniors Zach Johnson and Kevin Roers, along with freshman Jake Nohre, were named honorable mention all-conference. They helped the Chargers finish 9-3 in the Pheasant Conference, tying them with Wheaton-Herman-Norcross for the league title.

Brandon-Evansville head coach Brian Perleberg also shared the Coach of the Year honors with WHN head coach Tony Thiel. The Warriors’ Carter Thiel and Clinton-Graceville-Beardsley’s Keane Turner shared the Most Valuable Player Award.



ALL CONFERENCE – WHN – Thiel, Brad Staples, Justin Coffman, Justin Lupkes, Bradan Krump; CGB – Turner, Damon Gibson, Zak Adelman; B-E – Bosek, Huisman, C. McGaffey, B. Christianson; Ortonville – Isaac Cloos, Mike Schake; Hillcrest Lutheran Academy – Reggie Undseth, Jared Christenson; Hancock – Taylor Holleman; Ashby – Gage Olson

HONORABLE MENTION – WHN – James Backmon, Blake Coffman; B-E – Johnson, Roers, Nohre; Ortonville – Wyatt Dewitt, Adam Henrich, Riley Thompson; Hillcrest Lutheran Academy – Chris Tungseth, Sean McGuire; Hancock - Brandon Shaw

Eric Morken

Eric Morken is the sports and outdoor editor at the Echo Press and Osakis Review newspapers in Douglas County, MN. Follow him on Twitter at echo_sports.

(320) 763-1229