Weather Forecast


Pheasant Conference softball: Ashby fills All-Conference list

Ashby put five players on the Pheasant All-Conference softball team for 2013 after winning the league title, and Brandon-Evansville added three more.

Jeannette Evavold, a junior third baseman; Paige Nelson, junior pitcher; Cassandra Jordan, sophomore first baseman; Madison VanSanten, sophomore outfielder; and Meg Roley, senior catcher were all selected for the Arrows.

For the Chargers, Megan Kokett, junior outfielder; Kinsley Randt, junior first baseman; and Carlie Steffenson, senior pitcher, were all named to the team.

Receiving honorable mention from Ashby were Amber Sundal, junior shortstop; Emily Elliott, senior outfielder; Abby Ras, sophomore second baseman; and Chelsey Ness, sophomore outfielder.

Brandon-Evansville had two honorable mention players in Emma Friedrich, sophomore shortstop, and Carrigan Okerlund, eighth grade third baseman.

Ashby's Nelson was named the league's pitcher of the year and VanSanten earned most valuable Pheasant Conference player of the year.

Kandace Norby, the Arrow head coach, was named the Pheasant Conference coach of the year.


Ashby 9-1, 14-4

Ortonville 7-3, 11-7

Brandon-Evansville 6-4, 9-9

Wheaton-HN 4-6, 7-14

Hillcrest 2-8, 2-9

Clinton-GB 2-8, 4-11