Weather Forecast


Nominate your favorite local businesses today

Cardinals tennis hands out team awards

Alexandria’s Brendan Holm took home the team’s MVP Award after a strong senior season for the Cards. (File photo/Echo Press)

The Alexandria boys’ tennis team wrapped up its 2014 season by recognizing recipients of team awards after finishing with an 11-12 record.

  The Cardinals had a slow start to the season due to the weather, but once they got started, head coach Dave Ronning said the team had its best season since 2009.

“It was a rough spring for everyone with the snow and cold weather, but once the weather cleared and we were able to get matches under way, the Cardinals enjoyed a much improved season from a year ago, and their best season since 2009,” Ronning said.

The Cardinals finished 5-7 against Central Lakes Conference opponents to give them fourth place. Ronning said the highlights for the program were wins against Totino Grace, Sartell and Brainerd.

“The guys were very coachable and versatile, with many of them being able to play both singles and doubles,” he said.

Senior Brendan Holm was selected the most valuable player for the Cardinals this season. He tied for a team high in wins with 15 and played both doubles and singles. As the team’s first singles player, Devin Crowe was selected Most Intense. He finished the season with a 9-15 record.

Payton Grandgenett, who tied for the team lead in wins with 15, was selected Hardest Worker. Nick Partington, who also had 15 wins, was handed the Most Improved award.

The Cardinals had three players who were recognized with conference awards this season. Mark Kallevig was named All Conference, and Holm and Grandgenett were selected All Conference Honorable Mention.

The team also selected its captains for the 2015 season – Duwenhoegger, Grandgenett and Partington.


OVERALL RECORD – Lucas White, 1-4; Spencer Vogel, 1-6; Codi Hoffman, 4-4; Valentino Grasiuso, 6-7; Devin Crowe, 9-15; Graham Hegstad, 10-11; Jack Schneider, 12-9; Mark Kallevig, 14-11; Andrew Storm, 14-8; Levi Duwenhoegger, 14-12; Payton Grandgenett, 15-7; Nick Partington, 15-9; Brendan Holm, 15-10

LETTER WINNERS – Lucas White; Spencer Vogel; Codi Hoffman; Valentino Grasiuso; Devin Crowe; Graham Hegstad; Jack Schneider; Mark Kallevig; Andrew Storm; Levi Duwenhoegger; Payton Grandgenett; Nick Partington; Brendan Holm

Blaze Fugina

Blaze Fugina is the sports editor of the Woodbury and South Washington County Bulletin newspapers. Previously, Blaze worked as a sports editor for the Pierce County Herald and a sports reporter for the Alexandria Echo Press. He graduated from the University of Wisconsin-River Falls in May of 2011. You can follow Blaze on Twitter at @BlazeFugina.

(651) 319-4280