Weather Forecast


Nominate your favorite local businesses today

Elliot Jacobson named swimming MVP

Alexandria swimming and diving award winners include (left to right) Elliot Jacobson, MVP; Mark Kallevig, hardest worker; Riley Maanum, most improved and Brady Wolkow, Coach’s Award. (Contributed)

The Alexandria boys’ swimming and diving team handed out its season-ending awards at its banquet recently with senior Elliot Jacobson being named the Cardinals’ team MVP.

Jacobson helped lead this team all season and saved his best for last at the state meet. He set personal records in his final three swims for Alexandria.

It started at the section meet where he qualified for state in the 100 breaststroke. He then swam under the one-minute mark for the first time in his career during the prelims at state with a time of 59.72 before going even faster in the finals in 59.11 seconds. That earned him all-state honors with a third-place finish in the event. Jacobson was also second in team points with 332.5.

Fellow senior Mark Kallevig earned the Hardest Worker Award from his team. Kallevig wrapped up his career with a 14th place finish in the 200 IM. He and E. Jacobson also joined Brandon McCormick and Max Jacobson in taking seventh in the 200-medley relay at state with a finals time of 1:41.22. Kallevig led the team in points scored this season with 358.

The Most Improved Award went to senior Riley Maanum, while freshman Brady Wolkow took home the Coach’s Award from the banquet. Maanum was seventh in team scoring with 89 points this year. He dropped almost three seconds from his entry time at the Section 5A meet in the 200 freestyle with a finals time of 2:04.09 to earn 15th place in that event. He also took 15th in the 500 freestyle in 5:44.59 at the section meet.

Wolkow stepped up as the Cardinals’ top diver this season and wrapped things up with a fifth-place finish and a score of 350.75 points at the 5A meet. He was also an honorable-mention All-Central Lakes Conference performer.

Junior Max Jacobson had the third most points (328) for Alexandria this season. He joined E. Jacobson and Kallevig in being honored with his All-CLC certificate. Brandon McCormick (fourth, 235.5), Nick Chromey (fifth, 138.5), D’Anthony Moorer (sixth, 116) and Ben Tollefson (eighth, 85.5) rounded out the top-eight scorers for the team.

The Cardinals also had some athletes honored for their work in the classroom. Elliot Jacobson, Kallevig, McCormick and Tollefson were seniors who earned academic All-CLC Awards.

The banquet also put the final touches on the career of head coach Mark Storhaug. Alumni of the Alexandria swim team recognized Storhaug with a plaque commemorating all his accomplishments through 30 years of coaching. Storhaug announced his retirement after the season.


TEAM AWARDS – Most Improved – Maanum; Hardest Worker – Kallevig; MVP – E. Jacobson; Coach’s Award – Wolkow

ALL-STATE – E. Jacobson, M. Jacobson, McCormick, Kallevig

ALL-CLC – E. Jacobson, M. Jacobson, Kallevig; Honorable mention – Wolkow

ACADEMIC ALL-CLC – E. Jacobson, Kallevig, McCormick, Tollefson

LETTER WINNERS – SENIORS – E. Jacobson, Kallevig, Maanum, McCormick, Michael Taillefer, Tollefson; JUNIOR – M. Jacobson; SOPHOMORES – Chad Blank, Josh Flatau, Luke Houska; FRESHMEN – Moorer, Henri Santelman, Eric Welle, Wolkow; EIGHTH GRADE – Preston Bowden, Chromey, Jackson Grove; SEVENTH GRADE – Patrick Chromey

Eric Morken

Eric Morken is the sports and outdoor editor at the Echo Press and Osakis Review newspapers in Douglas County, MN. Follow him on Twitter at echo_sports.

(320) 763-1229