Weather Forecast


Wrestling: Piepenburg moves into second on Alex wins list

Trent Piepenburg wrestles during the third-place match at the Big Ole Invite on February 1, 2014. Piepenburg got three wins during last Friday’s home quad, bringing his career-wins total to 135. That’s good for second on the school’s all-time wins list. (Eric Morken/Echo Press)

The Alexandria wrestling team finished with two wins over Fergus Falls and Sauk Centre/Melrose and a loss to Little Falls in a home quadrangular meet on Friday that was the final home meet at Jefferson High School.

Alexandria lost 39-19 to Little Falls to wrap up the day after beating Fergus Falls 49-16 and getting a 57-12 victory over Sauk Centre/Melrose. That left the Cardinals with some mixed emotions after going 2-1 but falling to section foe Little Falls.

“We thought we had the pieces in place to win that dual as well,” head coach Tom Ellison said of the match against the Flyers. “Little Falls was able to win the battle of scoring first and that perhaps was the difference in the dual.”

Justin Cumberbatch, Trent Piepenburg, Adam Johnson and Dustin Neu led the Cardinals with three victories each. Piepenburg recorded his 135th career win that night, moving him into second place on Alexandria’s career wins list.

The highlight of the quad for Piepenburg came in a pin over Cameron Carl of Little Falls in 36 seconds. He also won by major decision 8-0 over Fergus Falls’ Nathan Onstad and won by a 3-0 decision over Will Funk of Sauk Centre/Melrose.

At 220 pounds, Cumberbatch won a major decision 14-4 over Little Falls’ Trysten Ross. He also won a 5-2 decision over Abram Aho of Fergus Falls and picked up a forfeit victory against Sauk Centre/Melrose.

Johnson picked up an 8-2 decision over Little Falls’ Lane Rutten and a forfeit victory at 113 pounds. He also wrestled a match at 120 pounds, where he pinned Nestor Vasquez of Sauk Centre/Melrose.

At 152 pounds, Dustin Neu earned a pin over Rodrigo Milla of Sauk Centre/Melrose. He also won a forfeit and a 7-2 decision over Austin Olson of Little Falls.




106 – Ben Bogart (A), won by decision over Leo Wilczek, 4-2; 113 – Adam Johnson (A) won by decision over Lane Rutten, 8-2; 120 – Logan Kapphahn (LF) won by decision over Dylan Kriese, 9-3; 126 – Josh Beack (LF) won by pin over Tryg Burgau, 1:16; 132 – Trent Piepenburg (A) won by pin over Cameron Carl, 0:36; 138 – Dan Mushel (LF) won by decision over Blake Olhausen, 6-4; 145 – Justin Jenks (LF) won by pin Jacob Schiltgen, 2:50; 152 – Dustin Neu (A) won by decision over Austin Olson, 7-2; 160 – Derek McMahan (LF) won by decision over Jake Nienaber, 19-14; 170 – Trevin Larsen (LF) won by decision over Quinton Kluver-Longfellow, 6-3; 182 – Tyler Gastecki (LF) won by decision over Mike Schluter, 8-4; 195 – Gage Blechinger (LF) won by pin over Shawn Nelson, 1:29; 220 – Justin Cumberbatch (A) won by major decision over Trysten Ross, 14-4; 285 – Tom Tabatt (LF) won by forfeit



106 – Bogart (A) won by tech fall over Seth Langbehn, 16-0; 113 – A. Johnson (A) won by forfeit; 120 – Kriese (A) won by major decision over Spencer Sikkink, 8-0; 126 – Ben Schindler (FF) won by pin over Burgau, 5:02; 132 – Piepenburg (A) won by major decision over Nathan Onstad, 8-0; 138 – Olhausen (A) won by forfeit; 145 – Schiltgen (A) won by decision over Joe Wedll, 7-1; 152 – Neu (A) won by forfeit; 160 – Dane Ringquist (FF) won by major decision over Jake Nienaber, 11-3; 170 – Kluver-Longfellow (A) won by forfeit; 182 – Schluter (A) won by decision over Gus Makovsky, 7-1; 195 – Cumberbatch (A) won by decision over Abram Aho, 5-2; 220 –Nelson (A) won by decision over Nick Weaver, 4-3; 285 – Taylor Tenner (FF) won by forfeit



106 – Antonia Ortiz (SC) won by decision over Bogart, 2-1; 113 – Ben Johnson (A) won by decision over Jordan Winter, 3-1; 120 – A. Johnson (A) won by pin over Nestor Vasquez, 1:37; 126 – Kriese (A) won by pin over Kolten Kuhlman, 3:05; 132 – Piepenburg (A) won by decision over Will Funk, 3-0; 138 – Olhausen (A) won by decision over Luke Glasener, 5-0; 145 – Johnson (A) won by pin over Mitch Wolbeck, 3:29; 152 – Neu (A) won by pin over Rodrigo Milla, 3:14; 160 – Dalton Reinke (SC) won by decision over Nienaber, 8-7; 170 – Kluver-Longfellow (A) won by pin over Roberto Raya, 2:49; 182 – Schluter (A) won by pin over Arturo Stefanoni, 2:24; 195 – Cumberbatch (A) won by forfeit; 220 – Nelson (A) won by pin over Clayton Mensen, 5:01; 285 – Charlie Barhorst (SC) won by forfeit

Blaze Fugina

Blaze Fugina is the sports editor of the Woodbury and South Washington County Bulletin newspapers. Previously, Blaze worked as a sports editor for the Pierce County Herald and a sports reporter for the Alexandria Echo Press. He graduated from the University of Wisconsin-River Falls in May of 2011. You can follow Blaze on Twitter at @BlazeFugina.

(651) 319-4280