Weather Forecast


Kremer named swimmers’ MVP

The Alexandria swimming and diving team still has its season going with Hannah Eklund set to swim at state next week, but the Cardinals wrapped up the team portion with their season-ending awards banquet earlier this week.

Jenna Kremer was named the team’s most valuable swimmer as one of 10 seniors who swam their last meet this year. Megan Bristow, Darbi Crowe, Kate Edenloff, Sam Frederick, Kendra LeSota, Heidi Moe, Jaylen Olson-Rodel, Ally Timm and Kallie Zieman were also honored at the banquet as the seniors on this team.

Katie Coopet, a freshman, was named the team’s most improved swimmer after she worked her way up into two starting spots on varsity. Madalyn Winger earned the Hardest Worker Award for her efforts in the pool and on-deck strength training sessions.

Crowe earned the Coach’s Award and was admittedly a sentimental pick by head coach Mark Storhaug from his time teaching her early swimming lessons as a youngster on the Alexandria Swim Club. Kremer was also awarded MVP for her commitment to the positive culture within the team.

The Cardinal swimmers had an equal commitment to their work in the classroom as they did in the pool. Alexandria earned a share of the Section 6A academic championship with Morris-Minnewaska this season. Bristow, Edenloff, Kremer, Moe, Timm and Zieman were also recognized as Academic All-CLC with GPAs of 3.4 or higher.

The Cardinals finished the team portion of the season with a 5-5 overall record. They were third at the section true team meet, fourth in the CLC and fourth at the Section 6A championships.


TEAM AWARDS – MVP – Kremer; Most improved – Coopet; Coach’s Award – Crowe; Hardest Worker – Winger

ALL-CLC – Winger; Honorable Mention – Eklund, Bristow

ACADEMIC ALL-CLC – Bristow, Edenloff, Kremer, Moe, Timm, Zieman

Eric Morken

Eric Morken is the sports and outdoor editor at the Echo Press and Osakis Review newspapers in Douglas County, MN. Follow him on Twitter at echo_sports.

(320) 763-1229