Weather Forecast


'Fall Classic in the Spring' brings in 197 racers

A field of 197 cars took part in the FYE Motorsports promoted "Fall Classic in the Spring" last weekend at Viking Speedway. The event was postponed three times last fall due to inclement weather. Following is a summary of the six WISSOTA division competitions:

Street Stock

Chris Ritter took the lead on lap one of the 20-lap Street Stock main. Fourth starter Ryan Buer quickly moved to second while 10th starter Cory Tammen cracked the top five five laps into the event while Buer caught the backside of Ritter. Buer made a power move to the inside of Ritter taking the lead on lap seven while Tammen slid into third. Tammen quickly disposed of Ritter for second with Buer holding a six-car length advantage. Tammen closed in on Buer when the first yellow waved on lap 11. Luke Nelson and Joe Potter dueled side by side with Nelson taking the spot exiting turn two. Buer moved away from the field when the final yellow bunched the field. Tammen edged ahead of Nelson on the restart to hold second while Buer pulled away again. Back in traffic, Jason Babcock and Roger Christiansen worked their way through the field. Babcock started in 14th finishing in seventh while Christiansen started 16th and finished eighth. Out front it was Buer picking up the win. Tammen, Nelson, Potter and "Nitro" Jimmy Williams rounded out the top five. Heat race wins were collected by Buer and Cory Rosen.

Midwest Modified

Shane Sabraski and Jason VandeKamp shared front row starting duties. Sabraski beat the field to turn one for the lead. Tyler Limoges slid past Ryan Mikkelson into second when the first yellow waved two laps into the event. When the green flag waved, Mikkelson moved by Limoges for second while eighth starter Ron Jones was on the move. Jones cracked the top five on lap three and began to work VandeKamp for fourth. A myriad of yellow flags halted action during the midway point with Jones working his way to third. With eight laps remaining it was Sabraski ahead of Mikkelson, Jones, Limoges and Austin Arneson. On the restart Mikkelson and Jones battling door-to-door for second. Back in traffic, 23rd starter Travis Saurer found himself in eighth with three laps remaining. VandeKamp's car began to work well during the ladder stages of the event as he and Arneson battled for fourth. In the end it was Sabraski leading all 25-laps picking up the win ahead of Mikkelson, Jones, VandeKamp and Arneson. Heat race wins were collected by Limoges, Brian Haben, Sabraski, Josh Muzik, Mikkelson and VandeKamp.

Late Model

Paul Mueller and Shawn Kirwin shared front row starting duties for the 40-lap, $4,000 event. Kirwin took the lead from the outside. Fourth starter Zach Johnson worked his way to second while 11th starting Lance Mathees also advanced. On lap nine Johnson blasted by Kirwin for the lead using the bottom. Mathees was glued to the bottom as he worked by Ricky Weiss and Pat Doar for third. Mathees disposed of Kirwin for second at the halfway point. Wildung began his surge to the front, cracking the top five with 17 laps on the board. He ran the extreme high side with Johnson in the middle and Mathees on bottom. As the trio encountered lap traffic the yellow waved with 12 to go. Mathees was now in front ahead of Johnson and Wildung. Johnson chose the outside of the second row on the start. Mathees headed for the ditch as Wildung blasted by Johnson via the middle groove. Wildung climbed the banking in turns 3-4 pulling even with Mathees. With eight to go, Wildung used his top-side momentum to propel to the lead. Johnson worked by Mathees and rallied a final challenge. Wildung cruised to the victory, followed by Johnson, Mathees, Marshall Fegers and Ricky Weiss. Don Shaw picked up the hard charger award starting 21st and finishing 10th. Heat races were won by Pat Doar, Marshall Fegers and Shawn Kirwin.


Jay McDonald took the lead from the pole in the 30-lap Mod main. Fifth starter Scot Danzeisen used the bottom to slide into second. With five laps down it was McDonald, Danzeisen, Jensen, Thoennes and Darrell Nelson in the top five. On lap eight, Danzeisen overtook McDonald for the lead while Jensen pressures McDonald for second. Jensen snuck by on lap 10 with Thoennes anchoring fourth. Jensen began to run down Danzeisen while McDonald battled with Thoennes for third. Two yellow flags slowed action midway. On a restart, Thoennes moved by McDonald for third. Jensen looked to the outside of Danzeisen exiting turn four with 10 laps remaining as the duo drag raced down the frontstretch. Danzeisen held the groove and the lead. Back in the pack, 23rd starter Kelly Estey used the bottom to his advantage, while most cars worked middle to high. Estey cracked the top five with four laps remaining. Jensen tried everything to overtake Danzeisen but Danzeisen picked up the $3,000 win. Jensen had a great run in second ahead of Thoennes, Nelson and Estey. Estey moved up 18 spots garnering the hard charger award.

Super Stock

The Super Stock finale proved to be a good one with Larry Lund leading the first 24 laps from the pole. Lund endured early challenges from Don Eischens and Don Shaw holding the lead as the white flag flew. Lund, however, began to pour smoke out of the rear of his car with two laps remaining, which allowed Zach Schultz to power by for the lead entering turn one on the final lap. Schultz, Mike Peterson, Dave Mass and Jeff Hapala were able to sneak by Lund on the final circuit as his machine slowed. Schultz made no mistakes on his final trip around picking up the biggest win of his career. Mike Peterson had a great run in second followed by 14th starter Dave Mass. Hapala and Lund rounded out the top five. Scott Lawrence garnered hard charger honors starting 22nd and finishing 7th.

Mod Fours

Dustin Zieske grabbed the opening lap advantage in the Mod Four race. The field was able to complete the first lap before a myriad of yellows halted action. Zieske ran around the top of the speedway with Rob VanMil challenging on the bottom. Zieske and VanMil ran side by side for the better part of six laps before Zieske seized control of the event. Out front it was Zieske picking up his first Viking Speedway victory and the $750 paycheck. VanMil had a nice run in second followed by 11th starter Josh Abrahamson. Second generation racer Tyler Larson finished in fourth ahead of Corry VanMil. Dean Larson and Rob VanMil picked up heat race wins with Josh Abrahamson picking up the hard charger award moving up eight spots.

The regular Viking Speedway season kicks off Saturday, April 24. Races start at 5:30 p.m.