Weather Forecast


Heinen is Junior champ

Nick Heinen of Edmond, Oklahoma captured the Junior Division championship.

Minnetrista's Tommy Brandabur picked the wrong time to play his worst round of the Resorters tournament this past Saturday.

Brandabur locked up with Edmond, Oklahoma native Nick Heinen in the Junior finals and got off to a start that included two bogeys and a double-bogey. That helped Heinen, the 2008 runner-up, get off to a 2-up lead that he would only build upon on his way to an 8-7 win for the championship.

The Junior Division started with a record high 52 entrants at the start of the week. In the end, it was Heinen who stood tall with four steady rounds in match play.

Heinen shot great to take advantage of Brandabur's struggles. A birdie on No. 4 gave him a 3-up lead and that was just the start. Heinen's only blemish through the rest of the round came on No. 9 when he bogeyed to halve the hole. Pars on Nos. 5, 6, 7 and 8 were all good for wins as he took a seven-hole lead into the back nine.

Once there, he wasted no time putting the match away. Heinen went 8-up with another par on No. 10. All that was needed now was a push and the match would be over. That is exactly what he got on No. 11 when both players parred to send Heinen back to Oklahoma a champion.


Max Coatta, Minnetonka, medalist 76

Nick Heinen, Edmond, OK 77

Tommy Brandabur, Minnetrista 81

Nicholas Brundell, Alexandria 81

Brady Hafdal, Alexandria 81

Mathew Bennett, Marshall 82

Charlie Johnson, Shorewood 82

Austin Fowler, Grand Rapids 84

Conor Freeman, Chanhassen 84

Connor Lehman, Plymouth 84

Austin McCulloch, Alexandria 84

Brandon Bistodeau, Alexandria 85

Lukas Bigger, Alexandria 86

Hunter Bruhn, Buffalo 86

Alex Freeman, Chanhassen 87

Mitch Freeman, Chanhassen 87


Max Coatta def. Mitch Freeman, 4-3

Austin Fowler def. Conor Freeman, 1-up

Lukas Bigger def. Brady Hafdal, 20 holes

Tommy Brandabur def. Brandon Bistodeau, 3-1

Nick Heinen def. Alex Freeman, 7-5

Matt Bennett def. Austin McCulloch, 6-4

Nick Brundell def. Hunter Bruhn, 1-up

Charlie Johnson def. Connor Lehman, 7-6


Austin Fowler def. Max Coatta 1-up 19

Tommy Brandabur def. Lukas Bigger 2-1

Nick Heinen def. Matt Bennett 1-up

Charlie Johnson def. Nick Brundell 1-up


Tommy Brandabur def. Austin Fowler 4-3

Nick Heinen def. Charlie Johnson 4-3


Nick Heinen def. Tommy Brandabur 8-7