Weather Forecast


Nominate your favorite local businesses today

Late push gives Feger dramatic win at Viking Speedway

Photo by Todd Torfin Photos Jeremy Kerzman (14x), Jason Hoffman (07) and Dustin Bitzan held a tight pack at the front during the Midwest Modified Division race at the Viking Speedway last Saturday night. Kerzman went on to take first in the feature race. Bitzan came in 13th, while Hoffman finished 20th.

Although Mound, Minnesota ace Justin Fegers only led one lap of Saturday night's Steve Wagner Memorial WISSOTA Late Model A-main, he led the most important one, taking the victory and the $1,500 paycheck that went with it.

Scot Danzeisen took his second win in only his second appearance in WISSOTA Modified action, while Lake Lillian's Jason Vejtruba garnered the win in the WISSOTA Super Stock finale.

Fifth row starter Jeremy Kerzman picked up a very impressive win in the WISSOTA Midwest Modified feature with Jason Babcock reigning victorious in the WISSOTA Street Stock A-main. Fans, pit crew members and drivers alike converged once again for some great Amsoil Dirt Track Series racing on Integrity Title and Pipeline Travel Plaza night at the speedway.

The WISSOTA Midwest Modified A-main was the first item on the docket with veteran Ron Saurer taking the opening lap advantage. Saurer would continue to lead early on while Travis Saurer and Kerzman worked their way forward.

Yellow flags halted action several times, which continued to bunch up the field behind Saurer. With seven laps remaining, Kerzman made the pass he needed to overtake Saurer for the lead as he filed off of turn four. Travis Saurer followed Kerzman into second and ultimately ended a nice run there.

Back in the pack, Holloway driver Brian Haben steadily worked his way to the front. When the final lap was scored, Haben had successfully ended a great run in the fifth position. Out front it was Kerzman looking smooth in the remaining laps, collecting his first feature win of the season.

Current point leader Travis Saurer had a nice run coming home second ahead of Ron Saurer, fifth starter Brett Hoium and Haben.

The WISSOTA Street Stock A-main featured a great battle between Justin Vogel and Jason Babcock. Babcock worked the middle of the speedway with Vogel up on top. With four laps remaining in the 12-lap affair, Babcock made the winning pass off of turn four, while Vogel ultimately settled for second. In the end it was Babcock, Vogel, Scott Horn, Andrew Bangsund and Randy Laage. Vogel was victorious in the division's lone heat race.

Although Vejtruba led wire to wire in the WISSOTA Super Stock A-main, he was seriously challenged several times. Sixth starter Cory Tammen moved into second early on and made a couple bids for the lead during the duration of the race. Vejtruba, however, remained unscathed and went on to score a mighty impressive feature win.

Cory Tammen ultimately outlasted Jeff Flaten for the second spot with row five starter Jon Stepan finishing in fourth. Lisbon, North Dakota driver Todd Carter ended another stellar run in the fifth position. Heat race wins were collected by Carter, Flaten and Vejtruba.

Hutchinson driver Jamie Lemke took the lead on lap one of the WISSOTA Modified finale. Eighth starter Danzeisen used the bottom of the speedway to his advantage as he overhauled Lemke for the top spot seven laps into the event. Don Eischens moved to the bottom and was able to sneak by Lemke for the second spot, while Danzeisen began to stretch his advantage out front.

Eischens continued his torrid pace and pulled even with Danzeisen with eight laps remaining. Danzeisen moved down a groove and blocked Eischens' advances for the time being. Row seven starter Scott Duval looked very strong in the latter stages of the 20-lap event, moving into the seventh spot on the final corner. On the final trip around, Danzeisen made few mistakes and went on to score his second Viking Speedway win of the season.

Eischens, Lemke, Danny Bayer and Dale Mathison were also members of the top five finishing order. Bayer, Dennis Bitzan and Mathison each scored a heat race win for the WISSOTA Late Models.

After an early turn one incident claimed drivers Zach Johnson, Marshall Fegers and Scott Greer, Jeff Hinkemeyer stole the lead from Eric Breeschoten on lap one of the WISSOTA Late Model A-main.

Hinkemeyer ran the extreme top side of the speedway with Breeschoten down in the ditch. Row four starter Fegers looked strong at the beginning of the event, moving into third behind Breeschoten via the bottom groove in turn four.

Hinkemeyer remained strong out front looking as if he might be the car to beat as the first 12 laps of the event were in the books. Fegers, however, began to push his machine with around 10 laps remaining. Fegers moved by Breeschoten for the second spot with nine to go and started the long process of reeling in Hinkemeyer.

With two laps still up on the board, Fegers had caught Hinkemeyer. He diamoned the corner in turns three and four and pulled to within a car length with the white flag showing. As Hinkemeyer and Fegers entered turn one, Hinkemeyer's machine let go, making a loud sound in the process. That would hand over the lead to Fegers and ultimately the victory of the Steve Wagner Memorial.

Out front it was Fegers scoring the mighty impressive feature win. Pat Doar, Breeschoten, Greg Meyer and Shaun Peterson rounded out the top five running order for the WISSOTA Late Model division.

Join us once again this Saturday night for some great half-mile action at Viking Speedway. Races start at 5:30. For more information regarding Viking Speedway log onto the track's website at