Weather Forecast


Ecklund named Blizzard MVP

The Alexandria Blizzard handed out awards for the regular season at its team banquet before heading into its playoff series against Granite City.

Second-year forward Ian Ecklund was named the team’s MVP after leading the Blizzard with 78 points this season. He had 50 assists and 28 goals and a plus-minus rating of plus-28.

Alexandria’s Garrett Skinner earned the team’s Blizzard Award. He put together a 40-point season with 30 assists and 10 goals. Trent Olson won the Defensive Award for his role in helping shut down the opposition. Olson played in 39 games and added 12 assists to what he did for the team on defense.

The Most Improved Award went to Mitch Krafcheck. The defenseman played in 35 games for Alexandria and put together 11 points through the regular season.

Bo Gronseth rounded out the award winners by being named the Rookie of the Year after finishing tied for fourth on the team with 44 points. The forward from Hermantown was third on the team with 30 assists to go along with 14 goals.

Eric Morken

Eric Morken is the sports and outdoor editor at the Echo Press and Osakis Review newspapers in Douglas County, MN. Follow him on Twitter at echo_sports.

(320) 763-1229