Weather Forecast


Softball: Okerlund wins Pheasant Conference MVP, McNamara COY

West Central Area softball coach Vanessa McNamara talks with umpire Harold Meissner during a game on April 11. McNamara was named the Pheasant Conference Coach of the Year this season after guiding the Knights to a 17-7 record. (Eric Morken | Echo Press)1 / 6
Elizabeth Friedrich2 / 6
Carrigan Okerlund3 / 6
Morgan Stelzer4 / 6
Emily Bukkila5 / 6
Sadie Roers6 / 6

Brandon-Evansville has five representatives on the 2017 Pheasant All-Conference team, including senior Carrigan Okerlund, who was named Conference MVP.

The other four include seniors Sadie Roers, Morgan Stelzer and Lizzy Friedrich, along with junior Emily Bukkila.

Mikki Pikkaraine, Shyanna Behrens and Kennedy Lund, all seniors, were honorable mentions.

The Chargers split the conference title with Hillcrest this spring, as both teams posted an 11-3 record.

WCA's McNamara wins Coach of the Year

West Central Area head coach Vanessa McNamara was named the conference Coach of the Year, and the Knights have three players on the all-conference team, including senior Morgan Sanstead, junior Brianna Kreft and freshman Hailey Hansen.

Earning honorable mentions were sophomore Kaitlyn Sanstead, freshman Hailey Bennett and seventh grader Lexi Bright.

WCA finished third in the conference with a 10-4 record and 17-7 overall.

Ness represents Ashby on All-Conference team

Ashby sophomore Josey Ness was the lone Arrow to earn all-conference honors. The Arrows' 4-10 Pheasant Conference record put them in sixth in the final standings.

In addition to the MVP and Coach of the Year awards, Hillcrest senior Nicole DeKok earned the award for Pitcher of the Year.